News 25 Jul 2015

Australians make Suzuka 8 Hours Superpole

Waters' Yoshimura Suzuki team top of the Aussies so far.

Source: FIM.

Source: FIM.

Team Green Kawasaki has set the provisional pole position in qualifying for this Sunday’s 38th edition of the Suzuka 8 Hours, with the top 10 Superpole contestants decided for Saturday.

Kazuki Watanabe set the pace for Kawasaki alongside teammates Akira Yanagawa and Haji Ahmad Yudhistira, edging out the Yamaha Factory Racing team of Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith.

In third was top of the Australians, Josh Waters alongside Alex Lowes and Takuya Tsuda for Yoshimura Suzuki, ahead of the MuSASHI RT HARC-PRO Honda team of Takumi Takahashi, Michael vd Mark and Casey Stoner. It was Stoner who set the pace of the trio.

Completing the top five during regular qualifying was Team Kagayama Suzuki’s all-star Japanese combination of Yukio Kagayama, Noriyuki Haga and Ryuichi Kiyonari.

Of the remaining Aussies, Josh Hook’s TSR Honda team was seventh, the Sakurai Honda of Troy Herfoss and Jason O’Halloran was eighth, and the Monster Energy Yamaha Austria Racing Team featuring Broc Parkes was ninth and top of the World Endurance regulars.

Due to the separation of qualifying groups throughout Friday, the final order was set as follows to determine the Superpole order.

2015 Suzuka 8 Hours
Suzuka Circuit, Japan

Friday qualifying results:
1. Team Green Kawasaki 2m06.656s
2. Yoshimura Suzuki 2m06.958s
3. Yamaha Factory Racing 2m06.877s
4. TSR Honda 2m07.798s
5. MuSASHI RT HARC-PRO Honda 2m06.963s
6. Honda Dream RT Sakurai Honda 2m08.693s
7. Team Kagayama Suzuki 2m07.594s
8. EVA RT Test Type-01 Trick Star Kawasaki 2m09.117s
9. TOHO Racing with Moriwaki Honda 2m07.622s
10. MotoMap Supply Suzuki 2m09.215s
11. Monster Energy YART 2m08.973s