News 31 Aug 2015

Takahashi does Asian championship double in Thailand

Aitchison top of the Aussies at Chang International Circuit.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Japanese ace Yuki Takahashi won both races of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship in Buriram, Thailand, to take over at the top of the standings after four rounds.

The Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing won Saturday’s opening race from Ratthapong Wilairot (AP Honda Racing Thailand) and Tomoyoshi Koyama (T.Pro Yuzy Honda NTS).

Best of the Australians was Mark Aitchison in eighth position, with domestic regulars Michael Blair and Callum Spriggs crossing the line 19th and 23rd respectively.

Sunday’s second race was once again topped by Takashashi, this time ahead of Koyama and an aggressive showing from Ahmad Yudhistira (Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki).

Aitchison finished his weekend with a 13th in race two, while Aaron Morris bounced back from a DNF in the opening outing at claim 20th, ahead of Spriggs in 21st position.

Similarly Nakarin Athiratphuvapat bagged a double win in the Asia Production 250cc, with Australia’s Brandon Demmery riding his Yamaha to 25-20 results.

Round five of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship will be held at the Losail International Circuit on 30 September-3 October.

2015 Asia Road Racing Championship
Round four – Buriram, Thailand

Supersport race one results:
1.Yuki Takahashi
2.Ratthapong Wilairot
3.Tomoyoshi Koyama
4.Ahmad Yudhistira
5.Yuki Ito
8. Mark Aitchison (AUS)
19. Michael Blair (AUS)
23. Callum Spriggs (AUS)

Supersport race two results:
1.Yuki Takahashi
2.Tomoyoshi Koyama
3.Ahmad Yudhistira
4.Yuki Ito
5.Andi Farid Izdihar
13. Mark Aitchison (AUS)
20. Aaron Morris (AUS)
21. Callum Spriggs (AUS)

Supersport championship standings:
1.Yuki Takahashi 127
2.Tomoyoshi Koyama 117
3.Yuki Ito 91
4.Ahmad Yudhistira 87
5.Dimas Ekky Pratama 78
8. Mark Aitchison (AUS) 52
25. Michael Blair (AUS) 5
27. Aaron Morris (AUS) 4

Click here for detailed resultsA