News 21 Sep 2015

Rea crowned 2015 WorldSBK champion at Jerez

Sykes and Davies split race wins in Spanish round.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

The opening race of the Pirelli Spanish round of this year’s eni FIM Superbike World Championship has been won by Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), the former champion notching up his 60th WorldSBK career podium finish as teammate Jonathan Rea sealed his first world title by finishing fourth.

Rea was off the podium for the first time in 2015 after an early race fight with rival Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati SBK Team), who eventually finished second. Sykes dominated after leading from the start, easing away to take his 26th race win.

Not wanting to risk a mistake, Rea was overhauled by Michael van der Mark who showed some real speed on his Pata Honda, the Dutchman claiming his third podium of the year ahead of the new world champion Rea and Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils), who was in contention despite a lowly 11th position grid slot.

Michele Pirro ( Racing – Ducati SBK Team) finished a credible sixth ahead of Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes, Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing), Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) and the outgoing champ Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) who completed the top ten.

Jordi Torres made life difficult for himself, the Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils rider running off track at the start. Rejoining he ended the opening lap in 18th before eventually finishing 12th, four seconds adrift of compatriot David Salom (Team Pedercini) who had the accolade of being the best placed Spanish rider.

The final points finishers were Roman Ramos (Team Go Eleven), Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing) and Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia). Niccolo Canepa (Althea Racing) was running a strong fourth in the early stages before losing the front of his Ducati Panigale, but remounted for 17th.

Davies went one better than in race one to win the second race of the day at a very hot and sunny Jerez circuit in Spain. Unlike the opening encounter, Sykes was unable to break away after taking the holeshot for the second time and, despite stretching his advantage in the early laps, was passed with 10 laps to go by Davies who went on to grab his ninth win of 2015.

The race pace was slower this afternoon, as expected because of the increase in track temperature, with Davies pulling away in the second half of the race to win from Torres, who made amends for his race one and his Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils teammate Haslam, who both overhauled early leader Sykes to complete the podium.

Fresh from winning the 2015 WorldSBK title in race one, Rea took another fourth position aboard his Kawasaki ahead of race one winner Sykes, who seemed to suffer in the hotter conditions – the pair sealing Kawasaki the manufacturer crown in the process.

The top six was completed by Baiocco ahead of Pirro who had another solid race to finish seventh. Eighth to 10th positions were taken by Camier, Guintoli and Mercado. Canepa finished 11th after starting on the front row aboard his Althea Racing Ducati with Salom finishing 12th.

Van der Mark crashed his Pata Honda out of the podium fight with five laps to go. The Dutchman was however once again in contention until he lost the front at turn nine. He rejoined to salvage three points with 13th at the flag. 14th was Badovini with the final point taken by the youngest competitor Christophe Ponsson (Team Pedercini).

Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) was given a ride through penalty after pulling into the pit lane after a lap, a disappointing end to his weekend after a strong showing in race one. Alex Phillis (Grillini SBK Team Kawasaki) claimed 19th in both races.

Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) moved one step closer to his fourth World Supersport title after controlling today’s 19-lap race at Jerez. Starting from pole position, the Turkish rider made a perfect start to lead from the start where he was never headed, eventually winning the 32nd WSS race of his career by 1.037s.

The final places on the podium were taken by PJ Jacobsen (CORE Motorsport Thailand) and Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), the pair lapping consistently but unable to challenge Sofuoglu today.

After a steady start Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) finished 4th ahead of WSS debutant Nico Terol (MV Agusta Reparto Corse). Terol was drafted after the unfortunate crash on Friday that curtailed Jules Cluzel’s title ambitions.

Australian rookie Aiden Wagner (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) finished inside the points with a solid 13th place, while countryman Glenn Scott (AARK Racing Honda) crossed the line a few positions back in 16th.

Roberto Tamburini (MotoxRacing BMW) has kept his slim title chances alive by winning the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup race. He crossed the line with a comfortable 4.6s lead over Althea Racing’s Raffaele De Rosa and series leader Lorenzo Savadori (Nuova M2 Racing Aprilia). Aussie Bryan Staring (Pedercini Kawasaki) improved on his qualifying position for ninth.

2015 Superbike World Championship
Round 11 – Jerez, Spain

Superbike race one results:
1. Tom Sykes
2. Chaz Davies +2.865s
3. Michael van der Mark +6.665s
4. Jonathan Rea +9.059s
5. Leon Haslam +9.318s
6. Michele Pirro +10.466s
7. Alex Lowes +15.945s
8. Matteo Baiocco +18.020s
9. Leon Camier +18.654s
10. Sylvain Guintoli +19.510s
19. Alex Phillis (AUS) +1 lap

Superbike race two results:
1. Chaz Davies
2. Jordi Torres +1.840s
3. Leon Haslam +2.335s
4. Jonathan Rea +7.619s
5. Tom Sykes +11.500s
6. Matteo Baiocco +12.705s
7. Michele Pirro +12.995s
8. Leon Camier +15.332s
9. Sylvain Guintoli +18.411s
10. Leandro Mercado +21.544s
19. Alex Phillis (AUS) +1m42.754s

Superbike championship standings:
1. Jonathan Rea 478
2. Chaz Davies 353
3. Tom Sykes 331
4. Leon Haslam 286
5. Jordi Torres 210
6. Sylvain Guintoli 175
7. Michael van der Mark 144
8. Matteo Baiocco 125
9. Alex Lowes 121
10. Davide Giugliano, 119

Supersport race results:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu
2. PJ Jacobsen +1.037s
3. Lorenzo Zanetti +2.020s
4. Kyle Smith +3.561s
5. Nico Terol +7.777s
6. Marco Faccani +11.391s
7. Alex Baldolini +16.822s
8. Christian Gamarino +28.339s
9. Kevin Wahr +29.997s
10. Roberto Rolfo +31.822s
13. Aiden Wagner (AUS) +41.967s
16. Glenn Scott (AUS) +50.863s

Supersport championship standings:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu 193
2. PJ Jacobsen 160
3. Jules Cluzel 155
4. Lorenzo Zanetti 129
5. Gino Rea 88
6. Kyle Smith 80
7. Roberto Rolfo 74
8. Alex Baldolini 59
9. Christian Gamarino 55
10. Marco Faccani 53
23. Aiden Wagner (AUS) 10
25. Glenn Scott (AUS) 8

Click here for detailed results