Features 24 Sep 2015

Fan Guide: 2015 FX-ASC Rd5 Wakefield Park

CycleOnline.com.au previews the Wakefield Park round.

The 2015 Swann Insurance Australasian Superbike Championship will resume with round five this weekend at Wakefield Park in Goulburn, NSW. CycleOnline.com.au previews the weekend’s racing in our revamped Fan Guide.

Image: Keith Muir.

Image: Keith Muir.


Our pick:
Troy Herfoss – He’s the home crowd favourite and enters Wakefield Park as the championship leader. Last time out in Goulburn Herfoss started from pole, crashed out of race one, then bounced back to win the final two races. He’s on the same package, has done plenty of laps in the lead-up and should get his first win since round one on Sunday.

Next best:
Wayne Maxwell – Although he missed the final day of YRT with YMI’s test, Maxwell won round five in Goulburn last year and should be even stronger this year equipped with the YZF-R1M. And if he does manage to take victory, Maxwell could very well take over the points lead on Sunday afternoon at a vital point of the season.

Outside chance:
Glenn Allerton – Queensland Raceway’s win will go a long way with Allerton, increasing his confidence immensely after a shaky start on the R1, and he has a lot of experience at Wakefield Park – essentially a second home round for him. Don’t be surprised to see him make it two wins in a row if things go his way this weekend.

Watch for:
Cru Halliday, Jamie Stauffer, Mike Jones, Sean Condon, Matt Walters

Rider lists

1 Wayne Maxwell
2 Jamie Stauffer
3 Troy Herfoss
4 Glenn Allerton
6 Cru Halliday
7 Sean Condon
9 Mike Jones
12 Matthew Walters
23 William Davidson
38 Linden Magee
60 Ben Burke
98 Evan Byles

Formula Xtreme:
11 Paul Crampton
14 Darren Wilbow
15 Dane Purcell
22 Brendan McIntyre
61 Jason Martin
69 Steve Maher
85 Michael Witchard
88 Lucas Vitale

3 Callum Spriggs
5 Jay Presepio
6 Luke Mitchell
7 Brayden Elliott
9 Cambridge Olivier
10 Thomas Bryden
11 Brandon Demmery
20 Rick Olson
23 Brad Swallow
29 Patrick Li
33 Rowen Smith
52 Michael Knight
58 Callum Alderson
64 Aaron Morris
65 Troy Guenther
68 Mitch Levy
78 Michael Blair
80 Kieran Maher
83 Kyle Buckley
96 Paul Young

Formula Oz:
14 Darren Wilbow
17 Damian Sutton
18 Ben Henry
21 Ben Green
23 Brad Swallow
26 Michael Underwood
42 Jason Ivkovic
45 Kieran Hurrell
46 Simon Galloway
47 John Chiodi
48 Paul Dutton
49 Marco Bortolussi
52 Paul Byrne
59 James Bulloch
61 Rhys Belling
71 Di Jones
74 Scott McGregor
75 Gavin Mudie
77 Mitch Paynter
78 Harry Boyadjian
86 Beau Beaton
88 Lucas Vitale
96 Laurance Smith

2 James Arnold
2N Adrian Pierpoint
3 Kris Keen
5 Craig McMartin
15 Richard Marrocchini
22 Giovanni Maturo
34 Liam Wilkinson
43 Richard Wilkinson
48 Stephen Cooper
65 Ben O’Connor
66 Ian Godwin
86 Beau Beaton

FX300 Ninja Cup:
S Samuel Davison
300 Jeff Ware
307 Ryan Masri
308 Ben White
310 Paul Young
311 Jake Pettigrew
312 Tony Jones
315 Jack Dawes
321 Stuart Green
323 Ryan Sellen
329 Keegan Pickering
333 Andrew Brown
337 Gregory Farrell
340 Craig White
344 Yannis Shaw
345 Samuel Condon
346 Jimmy Condon
350 Peter Avery
361 Shane Yokom
365 Jimmy Broadbent
369 Mark Rogers
370 Hunter Ford
375 Ashlee DeBakker
377 Robbie Menzies
387 Jason Martin
392 Julie Klinker

4 Daniel Ripperton
21 David Hiley
86 Jason Morris
89 Danny Pottage

Circuit location

Braidwood Rd
Tirrannaville, NSW

Circuit facts

Length: 2.20 kilometres

Turns: 10
Superbike lap record: Troy Herfoss 58.025s (FX-ASC spec)
Supersport lap record: Rick Olson 1m00.158s (FX-ASC spec)

Event entry

Children (16 and under) Free
General admission (Saturday/Sunday) $30
General admission (two-day) $40

Event schedule

Bikes on track from 9:15am; racing commences at 10:40am each day.

Live streaming:
Live streaming will be available to view on Sunday via CycleOnline.com.au to compliment our website and social media coverage at each and every round of the 2015 season.

2015 series calendar

Rd1 – 27-29 March – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
Rd2 – 15-17 May – Mallala, SA
Rd3 – 26-28 June – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
Rd4 – 14-16 August – Queensland Raceway, QLD
Rd5 – 25-27 September – Wakefield Park, NSW
Rd6 – 23-25 October – Winton, VIC
Rd7 – 4-6 December – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW