News 19 Oct 2015

BSB champ Brookes wins, crashes on Sunday at Brands Hatch

Aussie debuts number one plate during final races.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Josh Brookes celebrated his first MCE Insurance British Superbike crown with victory in the first of Sunday’s two races at Brands Hatch, but as the Australian bid to complete a hat trick he crashed out of the race as he battled for the perfect end to his title-winning campaign.

The Milwaukee Yamaha rider had clinched the crown in yesterday’s opening race as he headed off the challenges of defending four-time title-winner Shane Byrne and then the pair repeated the battle for the race two win with Brookes again emerging victorious.

Michael Laverty took his second podium of the season on the Tyco BMW in race two as he held off American John Hopkins on the Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati and James Ellison riding the JG Speedfit Kawasaki.

In the final race of the season Byrne was determined to finish his campaign on a high and he made a strong start to hit the front of the pack from Hopkins and Ellison, whilst Brookes was back in sixth place but fighting back.

An epic tussle for the win saw Hopkins, Byrne, Ellison and Laverty all hit the front of the field during the 20-lap race. Byrne seized the initial advantage, but his rivals were piling on the pressure with Ellison hitting the front on the fourth lap, however the PBM Kawasaki instantly retaliated to regain the position.

Laverty then made some decisive moves that put him at the front and he was holding off Brookes, Byrne and Ellison. However as Brookes challenged for the lead, the Australian crashed out at Graham Hill Bend unhurt, ending his chance of adding to his run of seven consecutive race wins.

Laverty was then left to fight off the attack from Ellison to sign off the season with his first victory for the Tyco BMW team, leaving Byrne having to settle for third ahead of Honda Racing’s Dan Linfoot and Christian Iddon on the Bennetts Suzuki.

2015 British Superbike Championship
Round 12 – Brands Hatch

Race one results:
1. Josh Brookes (AUS)
2. Shane Byrne
3. John Hopkins
4. Christian Iddon
5. Lee Jackson
6. James Ellison
7. Luke Mossey
8. Danny Buchan
9. Michael Laverty
10. Jakub Smrz
15. Billy McConnell (AUS)
19. Josh Waters (AUS)

Race two results:
1. Josh Brookes (AUS)
2. Shane Byrne
3. Michael Laverty
4. John Hopkins
5. James Ellison
6. Lee Jackson
7. Luke Mossey
8. Christian Iddon
9. Danny Buchan
10. Dan Linfoot
16. Josh Waters (AUS)

Race three results:
1. Michael Laverty
2. James Ellison
3. Shane Byrne
4. Dan Linfoot
5. Christian Iddon
6. Luke Mossey
7. Danny Buchan
8. John Hopkins
9. Jakub Smrz
10. Howie Mainwaring

Championship standings:
1. Josh Brookes (AUS) 703
2. Shane Byrne 662
3. James Ellison 614
4. Michael Laverty 601
5. Dan Linfoot 556
6. Tommy Bridewell 545
7. Luke Mossey 168
8. Richard Cooper 156
9. Peter Hickman 150
10. Stuart Easton 146
13. Jason O’Halloran (AUS) 103
15. Billy McConnell (AUS) 98
21. Broc Parkes (AUS) 38
25. Josh Waters (AUS) 28
33. Jed Metcher (AUS) 1

Click here for detailed results