News 20 Oct 2015

Phillip Island result seals Yamaha MotoGP Manufacturers Title

Lorenzo, Rossi and Smith score points toward elusive crown.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Following Movistar Yamaha MotoGP securing the 2015 MotoGP Team Title at the 14th round of the 2015 championship at Aragon, Yamaha has now scored its 37th Manufacturers Title at the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Movistar Yamaha MotoGP rider Jorge Lorenzo put in a superb performance at Phillip Island, taking second place to deliver Yamaha the 2015 MotoGP Manufacturers Title.

“I am naturally extremely happy to have secured our second title of the 2015 season, having already won the Team championship back in Aragon,” said Yamaha Motor Racing managing director Lin Jarvis. “This Manufacturers Title is special because it has been achieved with the impressive performances of both of our Yamaha teams in the MotoGP championship.

“I would like to thank the riders and team staff of the Movistar Yamaha MotoGP team and the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team. I would also like to congratulate the engineers of Yamaha’s Motorsports Development Division in Japan and Yamaha Motor Racing’s European based engineering and technical staff.

“The big question that now remains is which Yamaha rider will be crowned world champion. With just two rounds to go and only 11 points separating Valentino and Jorge it promises to be a thrilling climax to a great season in Yamaha’s 60th Anniversary year.”

Only the highest placed motorcycle of a given constructor gains points in the manufacturers title, with Yamaha collecting 362 points to date via six wins and two second places by Jorge Lorenzo, plus four wins, one second place and two third places by Valentino Rossi, as well as one second place by Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Bradley Smith.

Not only has the Movistar Yamaha MotoGP team already taken the 2015 MotoGP Team Title, securing Yamaha its sixth Team Title, but its riders are also the only participants still in contention for the 2015 MotoGP Rider Title.

By the end of the year Yamaha will have won the MotoGP ‘triple crown’ five times since the team category was added in 2002, in addition to being the only manufacturer to have secured all three titles three times in a row when Yamaha reigned supreme over the premier class from 2008 to 2010.