News 23 Oct 2015

Maxwell scorches to Winton AFX-SBK pole position

Buckley continues form with pole in Supersport class.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance’s Wayne Maxwell has claimed pole position for tomorrow’s sixth round of the 2015 Australian FX-Superbike Championship at Winton in Victoria.

Reigning champion Maxwell lapped in a record-breaking 1m21.920s to head YRT with YMI teammate Glenn Allerton by 0.556s, while Troy Herfoss (Team Honda Racing) and Cru Halliday (YRT with YMI) will complete the front row.

Also within the same second in fifth and sixth positions were Jamie Stauffer (Team Honda Racing) and Mathew Walters (Kawasaki Connection), as Mike Jones (Australian Outdoor Living – Cube Racing Team), Ben Burke (SA Kawasaki BCperformance), Linden Magee (LMR Honda) and Evan Byles (SA Kawasaki BCperformance) rounded out the top 10.

In Supersport it was SA Kawasaki BCperformance’s Kyle Buckley who continued his strong run of recent form with the pole position, his 1m25.242s out-pacing Jay Presepio (Yamaha) by 0.405s. Over a second off the pace of the pole time in third was Michael Blair (Yamaha), narrowly ahead of Cambridge Olivier (Yamaha) and Callum Spriggs (Yamaha).

The major news of the session was ASC title leader Brayden Elliott (Suzuki) qualifying all the way down at the rear of the grid in 16th position following an incident on just lap two of the session.

Other riders to qualify on top today included Beau Beaton (Formula Oz and Pro-Twins), Brendan McIntyre (Formula Xtreme), Adrian Pierpoint (Nakedbike), Paul Young (FX300 Ninja Cup) and Jason Morris (eFXC).

2015 Australian FX-Superbike Championship
Round six – Winton, VIC

Superbike qualifying results:
1. Wayne MAXWELL 1m21.920s
2. Glenn ALLERTON 1m22.476s
3. Troy HERFOSS 1m22.611s
4. Cru HALLIDAY 1m22.622s
5. Jamie STAUFFER 1m22.875s
6. Matthew WALTERS 1m22.877s
7. Mike JONES 1m23.768s
8. Ben BURKE 1m23.887s
9. Linden MAGEE 1m25.389s
10. Evan BYLES 1m28.943s

Supersport qualifying results:
1. Kyle BUCKLEY 1m25.242s
2. Jay PRESEPIO 1m25.647s
3. Michael BLAIR 1m26.424s
4. Cambridge OLIVIER 1m26.508s
5. Callum SPRIGGS 1m26.523s
6. Troy GUENTHER 1m26.601s
7. Luke MITCHELL 1m26.907s
8. Paul YOUNG 1m27.033s
9. Brad SWALLOW 1m27.399s
10. Justin DI GIANDOMENICO 1m27.616s

Click here detailed result