News 4 Dec 2015

Dominant Sydney win clinches Herfoss FX-Superbike title

Friday victory secures Team Honda Racing rider tomorrow's pole.

Image: Keith Muir.

Image: Keith Muir.

Team Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss has clinched the 2015 Australian FX-Superbike Championship after dominating this evening’s single race at Sydney Motorsport Park.

With just one race to decide the regular ‘Saturday’ series and double points on offer, Herfoss led the title race coming into today and sprinted to a 1.811s victory over 12 laps.

Arch-title rival and defending champion Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance) bowed out of championship contention when he crashed on lap two at turn nine. He remounted to finish eighth.

The result for Herfoss was not only important in terms of today’s title, but also places him on a pivotal pole position for Sunday’s three Australasian Superbike Championship races, where he and Maxwell are now separated by one point in the series.

Runner-up today was Herfoss’ teammate Jamie Stauffer (Team Honda Racing), while Mike Jones (Australian Outdoor Living – Cube Racing Kawasaki) completed the podium.

Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance teammates Cru Halliday, who claimed the AFX-SBK pole position earlier today, and Glenn Allerton were fourth and fifth respectively.

In Supersport it was Brayden Elliott (Suzuki) who topped today’s proceedings after winning the double points-paying second race, over Troy Guenther (Kawasaki) and Michael Blair (Yamaha). Race one went to pole-setter Aaron Morris (Yamaha).

The championship however belonged to Spriggs, claiming fourth for the round to comfortably take out the title over Blair and Friday winner Elliott.

Stay tuned for more to come.

2015 Australian FX-Superbike Championship
Round seven – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW

Superbike results:
1. Troy HERFOSS 50
2. Jamie STAUFFER 44
3. Mike JONES 40
4. Cru HALLIDAY 36
5. Glenn ALLERTON 32
6. Matthew WALTERS 30
7. Ben BURKE 28
8. Wayne MAXWELL 26
9. William DAVIDSON 24
10. Evan BYLES 22

Superbike championship standings:
1. Troy HERFOSS 368
2. Wayne MAXWELL 339
3. Glenn ALLERTON 327
4. Cru HALLIDAY 268
5. Mike JONES 260
6. Jamie STAUFFER 251
7. Matthew WALTERS 225
8. Ben BURKE 201
9. Evan BYLES 173
10. Sean CONDON 145

Supersport results:
1. Brayden ELLIOTT 68
2. Troy GUENTHER 66
3. Michael BLAIR 56
4. Callum SPRIGGS 56
5. Kyle BUCKLEY 44
6. Luke MITCHELL 43
7. Mitch LEVY 43
8. Thomas BRYDEN 34
9. Ben BLYTH 34
10. Brad SWALLOW 32

Supersport championship standings:
1. Callum SPRIGGS 389
2. Michael BLAIR 371
3. Brayden ELLIOTT 369
4. Troy GUENTHER 289.5
5. Luke MITCHELL 242
6. Kyle BUCKLEY 230
7. Mitch LEVY 223
8. Jay PRESEPIO 206
9. Brad SWALLOW 200.5
10. Cambridge OLIVIER 188.5

Click here for detailed results