News 27 Dec 2015

Star-studded rider line-up revealed for 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic

International field heading to Taree for flat track showdown.

Image: Andrew Gosling.

Image: Andrew Gosling.

Thirty five racers hailing from five countries will contest the 2016 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic presented by Insure My Ride, Garden Master and Shark Helmets at Taree Motorcycle Club on Saturday, 16 January.

The full rider line-up revealed includes competitors from Australia, America, the United Kingdom, Japan and Sweden representing seven disciplines of motorcycle racing.

Eight international competitors including four-time Long Track World Champion Joonas Kylmakorpi, British Supermoto Champion Chris Hodgson, Japanese Flat-Track Champion Masotoshi Ohmori and America’s top five AMA Pro Flat Track racers Brad Baker, Sammy Halbert, Jared Mees, Henry Wiles and Jake Johnson will take on Australia’s top racers.

Equally, the list of Australian riders confirmed for the 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic reads as a who’s who of Australian motorcycle racing, with the 27 racers collectively laying claim to over 200 national titles.

Event organiser Troy Bayliss said the rider line-up for the fourth instalment of the popular event promised to deliver some incredible on-track battles.

“This event continues to grow and improve year-on-year and the 2016 event is shaping to be the biggest one yet,” Bayliss said. “International interest in the Troy Bayliss Classic is gaining momentum, evident by the fact we have eight incredible racers from four countries, coming to take on a stellar line-up of some of Australia’s best motorcycle racers.

“The track has undergone a complete resurface courtesy of Taree Council and it will not be ridden on until the event, which means no one rider will have an advantage when the gates drop on January 16.

“For me personally, I am looking forward to catching up with the fans and racing in front of a great line-up of our future motorcycle racing champions (juniors),” Bayliss continued.

Tickets to the 2016 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic presented by Insure My Ride, Garden Master and Shark Helmets are on sale now via

The event, which will be held at Taree Motorcycle Club on Saturday, 16 January, is also supported by Coates Hire and Ixon.

2016 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic Allstars rider list:
Brad Baker (USA)
Sammy Halbert (USA)
Jared Mees (USA)
Jake Johnson (USA)
Henry Wiles (USA)
Chris Hodgson (UK)
Masatoshi Ohmori (JAP)
Troy Herfoss (AUS)
Troy Bayliss (AUS)
Paul Caslick (AUS)
Matt Davies (AUS)
Chris Hollis (AUS)
Josh Hook (AUS)
Michael Kirkness (AUS)
Marty McNamara (AUS)
Jared Oram (AUS)
Broc Parkes (AUS)
Luke Richards (AUS)
Anthony West (AUS)
Damian Cudlin (AUS)
Alex Cudlin (AUS)
Robbie Menzies (AUS)
Jared Brook (AUS)

2016 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic Legends rider list:
Joonas Kylmakorpi (SWE)
Damon Buckmaster (AUS)
Jason Crump (AUS)
Shawn Giles (AUS)
Anthony Gunter (AUS)
Kevin Horten (AUS)
Phil Lovett (AUS)
Vaughan Style (AUS)
Chris Watson (AUS)
Stephen Gall (AUS)