Features 10 Mar 2016

Fan Guide: 2016 FX-ASC Rd1 Sydney Motorsport Park

Looking ahead to this weekend's Swann Series opener.

The 2016 Swann Insurance Australasian Superbike Championship starts this Friday/Saturday at Sydney Motorsport Park, for the opening round of six to be contested. The Swann Series has once again attracted large fields and strong grids, despite the factory teams departing at the end of last year. Here’s the CycleOnline.com.au event Fan Guide.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Image: Russell Colvin.


Our pick:
Matt Walters – Back in 2013 Matt Walters won the Australasian Superbike Championship in a single-event format and now, armed with the 2016 Ninja ZX-10R, we’re tipping he can win in Sydney again. Looking back at last year’s final round he was the best of ‘the rest’, so with the factory guys and Mike Jones out of the equation, Walters will start the series with a bang.

Next best:
Ben Burke – There was something about the experienced SA Kawasaki BCperformance rider Ben Burke at Phillip Island late last month and we’re tipping he’ll carry that form into the Swann Series. His performance on the latest Kawasaki Superbike was typically strong and the addition of Robbie Bugden to the team will also boost him into 2016.

Outside chance:
Michael Blair – Coming off an impressive fifth overall at Phillip Island’s WorldSBK supports, Superbike rookie Michael Blair will contend for this title on board the YZF-R1 in 2016. He’s focused on the Swann Series alongside commitments in Asia and we wouldn’t rule out a debut win.

Watch for:
Robbie Bugden, Beau Beaton, Paul Byrne, Linden Magee

Rider lists

Superbike/Formula Xtreme:
12 Walters Matthew
22 McIntyre Brendan
24 Bugden Robbie
29 Binks William
30 Reekie Angus
33 McMurray Hamish
34 Wilkinson Liam
36 Rendon Carlos
38 Magee Linden
42 Ivkovic Jason
44 Purcell Dane
52 Bryne Paul
56 Swallow Brad
58 Breese Aaron
60 Burke Ben
63 De Leon Dominic
77 McFarlane Joshua
78 Blair Michael
81 Yusuf Eray
86 Beaton Beau
87 McCarthy Daniel
89 Desker Rancell
96 Harding Mathew
98 Byles Evan
99 Turner Corey

12 Chiodo Mark
16 Shipp Matthew
19 Thearle Gregory
20 Russell Bernie
21 Feely Keith
25 Nowland Warwich
26 Gibb Warren
45 Carlsson Jordan
48 Louqhnan Benjamin
52 Knight Michael
54 Bourne David
66 Spinks Hayden
68 Levy Mitch
70 Muldoon Samuel
81 Olivier Cambridge
83 Buckley Kyle
96 Masri Ryan

Formula Oz:
2 Galloway Simon
11 Wheeler Albie
17 Sutton Damian
22 Mercadal Richard
24 Fisher Andy
27 Kings Andrew
28 Saad Anthony
37 Jones Darren
44 Zaja Richard
45 Hurrell Kieran
49 Bortolussi Marco
61 Martin Jason
64 Whitney Rodney
66 Forest Mark
72 Nehme Wissam
74 McLeod Steve
77 Badgery Mark
78 Boyadjian Harry
88 Vitale Lucas
91 Barbacetto Simon
97 Batterson Scott
98 Byles Evan

3 Pierpoint Adrian
14 McMillan Michael
18 Birdsey Bill
22 Maturo Glovanni
30 Reekie Angus
41 McMartin Craig
43 Wilkinson Richard
46 Sagar Darren
52 Thomas Danny
58 Breese Aaron
62 Burke Phillip
65 O’Connor Ben
66 Godwin Ian
67 Draper Richard
86 Beaton Beau

FX300 Ninja Cup:
303 Dawes Jack
304 Ford Hunter
310 Sellen Ryan
311 Pettigrew Jake
314 Murray Michael
322 Pickering Keegan
323 Sellen Brett
327 Penman Robert
332 Lanyon Riki
333 Shaw Yannis
337 Farrell Gregory
340 White Craig
344 Condon Pat
345 Condon Sam
346 Condon Jim
350 Avery Peter
355 Brown Laura
365 Broadbent Jimmy
369 Rogers Mark
371 Chapman Scott
372 Bloomer Douglas
377 Thomson Trent
388 Starwyn Teakay
391 Easton Brian
392 Klinker Julie
394 Badger Matthew

Circuit location

Sydney Motorsport Park
Brabham Drive, Eastern Creek, NSW

Circuit facts

Length: 3.93 kilometres (GP Circuit)

Turns: 12
Superbike lap record: Aiden Wagner 1m30.666s (FX-ASC spec)
Supersport lap record: Rick Olson 1m32.727s (FX-ASC spec)

Event entry

Click here to pre-purchase or tickets available at the gate (Friday Adult GA $30; Saturday Adult GA $35 or Two-Day Adult GA $50 at the gate).

Event schedule

Bikes on track from 9:00am Friday/Saturday, concluding at 7:00pm each day.

Live streaming will be available to view on Saturday via CycleOnline.com.au to compliment our website and social media coverage at each and every round of the 2015 season.

2016 series calendar

Rd1 – 11-12 March – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW (FRI-SAT day/night)
Rd2 – 27-29 May – Mallala Motorsport Park, SA
Rd3 – 8-10 July – Queensland Raceway, QLD
Rd4 – 9-10 September – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
Rd5 – 28-30 October – Queensland Raceway, QLD
Rd6 – 16-17 December – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW (FRI-SAT day/night)