News 27 Mar 2016

Maxwell rebounds with dominant Wakefield Park second race win

Herfoss claims the overall round victory for Crankt Protein Honda.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha Racing Team’s Wayne Maxwell has dominated the second race of the Wakefield Park 2016 YMF Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli round.

The former ASBK champion accelerated away from the field across the 16 laps for a 5.179s victory. It was a spectacular rebound from Maxwell after he crashed out of race one earlier this afternoon.

Maxwell made a statement, crossing the finish line ahead of Ant West (Crankt Protein Honda Racing), who scored a second runner-up result of the day.

A late run-off from charging teammate Troy Herfoss cost him a race two podium result, however fourth was enough to secure him the overall.

That mistake of Herfoss also allowed Glenn Allerton (Yamaha Racing Team) on his back-up bike to salvage third, while behind Herfoss in fifth was top privateer Ben Burke (SA Kawasaki BCperformance).

Filling the top 10 was Brayden Elliott (Suzuki), Sloan Frost (Next Gen Motorsports Suzuki), his teammate Ryan Hampton, Adam Senior (Yamaha) and Joel Beard (Kawasaki).

Overall for the round Herfoss was the victory and new championship leader, from West and Burke, who took full advantage of consistencies throughout the two races.

There was further controversy in the race after Halliday and Falzon said they were taken out by West in the first corner of the opening lap, while Jones was ruled out with technical issues at the midway point as he was in the battle for the top five.