News 28 May 2016

Bugden sweeps Mallala FX-Superbikes round

Secures Sunday's Swann Series pole position in the process.

Image: Keith Muir.

Image: Keith Muir.

SA Kawasaki BCperformance’s Robbie Bugden has taken all three race wins during today’s second round of the Hip Pocket Australian FX-Superbike Championship at Mallala in South Australia.

Returning to racing this season, Bugden topped all three 10-lap races over teammate Ben Burke, while Michael Blair (IPONE Yamaha) completed the podium.

Locals Liam Wilkinson (Yamaha) and William Strugnell (Kawasaki) were also inside the top five overall, ahead of Matthew Harding (Kawasaki).

Matt Walters (Kawasaki Connection Repsol) had finished third in the opening two races, however he ran off in the third, unable to finish and was seventh overall.

Bugden will start from pole position in tomorrow’s second round of the Australasian Superbike Championship, to be joined on the all-important front row by Burke, Blair and Wilkinson.

The Supersport round was won by Kyle Buckley also on board a SA Kawasaki BCperformance entry, his 1-2-1 scorecard edging Mitch Levy’s (Yamaha) 2-1-2 results. Jordan Carlsson’s (Yamaha) strong form continued in third.

Other round winners overall today included Simon Galloway (Formula Oz), Beau Beaton (Pro-Twins/Nakedbike) and Sam Condon (FX300 Ninja Cup).