News 29 May 2016

Burke unbeaten on Sunday in FX-ASC at Mallala

Takes over championship lead in the process.

Image: Keith Muir.

Image: Keith Muir.

SA Kawasaki BCperformance took another 1-2 finish in today’s second round of the 2016 Swann Insurance Australasian Superbike Championship at Mallala, this time led by Ben Burke.

Burke was able to sweep all three races and turn the tables on in-form teammate Robbie Bugden, taking the championship lead in the process.

The opening Superbike race was led by Bugden throughout the duration, until Burke put a last lap move on him to steal the win, while Kawasaki Connection Repsol’s Walters recovered from seventh on the grid for third.

Burke went on to back up his form with another tight victory in moto two, again over teammate Bugden, while Walters completed the top three once again.

The third and final Superbike race of the round resulted in a Burke sweep for the round – as teammate Bugden had done on Saturday – ahead of Bugden by just 0.029s, with Walters third.

Overall for the round that was the podium as Burke claimed victory from Bugden and Walters, which resulted in Burke taking the series lead, now three points clear of round one winner Walters.

In Supersport Kyle Buckley (SA Kawasaki BCperformance) and Mitch Levy (Yamaha) shared the wins – two to Buckley and one to Levy – with Buckley scoring the overall.

Joining the pair on the podium was Sam Muldoon (Kawasaki). In the championship the trio are also in the same order, Buckley leading from Levy and Muldoon.

The other round winners included local Evan Byles (Formula Oz) in another win for SA Kawasaki BCperformance, alongside Beau Beaton (Pro-Twins/Nakedbikes), Jimmy Broadbent (FX300 Ninja Cup) and Tim Boujas (eFXC).