News 4 Jun 2016

Maxwell quickest in opening Barbagallo ASBK qualifying

Yamahas 1-2-3-4 during opening qualifying session.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha Racing Team’s Wayne Maxwell set provisional pole position on Saturday afternoon at Barbagallo Raceway in round four of the 2016 YMF Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli.

Maxwell led the opening qualifying session with a 55.709s laptime, which was slower than yesterday’s top times, following overnight rain.

Second was Friday’s fastest Glenn Allerton (Yamaha Racing Team) at 55.778s, while Daniel Falzon (JD Racing Yamaha) and Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) made it an all-R1 top four.

Fifth was Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss closely followed by Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati), the final rider inside the 55s bracket.

Qualifying two will take place this afternoon before the top six on combined times will progress into Superpole, which will determine the grid for Sunday’s pair of races.

Earlier this morning in Supersport qualifying one it was Luke Mitchell (Yamaha) who led the way, his 58.030s topping Sam Clarke (Kawasaki) by 0.386s and Ben Blyth (Yamaha) in third.