News 10 Jul 2016

Bugden takes FX-ASC points lead with Queensland Raceway win

Close quarters in the Sunshine State as another winner emerges.

Image: Keith Muir.

Image: Keith Muir.

Queensland’s Robbie Bugden (SA Kawasaki BCperformance) capped off a commanding 2016 Swann Insurance Australasian Superbike Championship round at Queensland Raceway with victory on Sunday.

In his home stop of the season and starting out of pole position following Saturday’s win, Bugden went 2-1-1 for the overall and took charge of the title lead in the process.

Race one this morning was won by rookie Michael Blair (IPONE Yamaha), however his hopes of victory were dashed when he crashed out of race two.

That put Bugden in the box seat to take out the round, which is exactly what he did, going on to comfortably win races two and three. He topped the overall podium from teammate Ben Burke and a resurgent Beau Beaton (Racer’s Edge Performance/Craig McMartin Racing/North Coast V-Twins Ducati).

Behind Beaton was part-time teammate Craig McMartin, as South Australian Yamaha privateer Liam Wilkinson claimed fifth overall. Blair was credited sixth after bouncing back for third in race three.

It was a difficult end to the weekend for opening round winner Matt Walters (Kawasaki Connection Repsol), scoring eighth overall due to crashing out of second in race three. He was fourth and third in the opening races.

In Supersport Mitch Levy (Yamaha) won the opening two races and finished second in the final outing to claim the overall, ahead of final race winner Kyle Buckley (Kawasaki) and Jordan Carlsson (Yamaha). Second of the SA Kawasaki BCperformance entries Ryan Masri (Kawasaki) was a close fourth.

The FX300 Ninja Cup round win belonged to Asia Dream Cup regular Broc Pearson with all three race wins, pressured heavily by road racing newcomer Tom Toparis, while points leader Sam Condon filled the podium.

Formula Oz was taken out by Simon Galloway (Yamaha) after sharing victories with Lucas Vitale (Suzuki), with Michael McMillan (Aprilia) topping all three Pro-Twins/Nakedbike races and Tim Boujos doing likewise in eFXC.

The Australasian Superbike Championship series now takes another extended layoff until the second half commences at Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales, on 8-10 September.