News 27 Jul 2016

Extensive list of Australians set for Suzuka 8 Hours

Endurance World Championship classic set for Sunday.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Australia will boast an incredibly strong contingent in this weekend’s 39th Coca-Cola Suzuka 8 Hours in Japan, marking round three of the 2016 FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC).

A who’s who of respected Aussie internationals will take part in the annual Japanese classic, which will be contested at the famed Suzuka Circuit on 28-31 July.

The extensive list of Australians competing at Suzuka this year include series regulars Broc Parkes (Yamaha Austria Racing Team), Damian Cudlin (au & Teluru Kohara RT Honda), Aaron Morris (Team R2CL Suzuki) and current EWC title leader Alex Cudlin (Team April Moto Motors Events Suzuki).

Making guest appearances will be Josh Brookes (Yoshimura Suzuki), Josh Waters (MotoMap Supply Suzuki), Anthony West (Akeno Speed WJR Racing Yamaha), Aiden Wagner (Team R2CL Suzuki), Mark Aitchison (TeamJP Dog Fight Racing Australia Yamaha) and Corey Turner (TeamJP Dog Fight Racing Australia Yamaha).

Notably absent from the entry list for the 2016 running is last year’s Australian standout Josh Hook, who was second overall as part of F.C.C. TSR Honda alongside Moto2 regular Dominique Aegerter. That team will instead be made up of Kazuma Watanabe, PJ Jacobsen and Aegerter this year.