News 6 Aug 2016

Herfoss dominates ASBK Superpole at Morgan Park

Mitchell claims Supersport pole position in Queensland.

Image: Keith Muir.

Image: Keith Muir.

Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss dominated the Pirelli Superpole session at Morgan Park’s fifth round of the 2016 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli.

Herfoss has been fastest in every session since free practice two, becoming the first rider to lap beneath the 1m14s bracket with a flying 1m13.826s.

It was an incredible display of pace shown by Herfoss as he posted no less than three laps in the 13s, to lead Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team) after he climbed to second on the final lap at 1m14.157s.

Maxwell’s run was also impressive as he was able to salvage second on the grid despite a heavy crash in this morning’s qualifying session, however the real test will come on Sunday afternoon during the pair of premier class races.

Last year’s Morgan Park winner Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati) improved to third in the session, claiming the final front row position, with Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team), Daniel Falzon (JD Racing Yamaha) and Jamie Stauffer (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) completing the six.

Earlier, title contender Glenn Allerton (Yamaha Racing Team) saw his day end early when he failed to make Superpole, ending up seventh on the grid and on row three for tomorrow.

In Supersport it was Luke Mitchell (Yamaha) who secured pole position for Sunday at 1m16.493s, overcoming Sam Clarke (Kawasaki) and Troy Guenther (Yamaha) on the front row. The top five was completed by WorldSSP regular Lachlan Epis (Kawasaki) and Callum Spriggs (Kawasaki).

The first race win of the weekend went to Tommy Edwards (Honda) narrowly ahead of Brian Houghton (Honda), while Tom Toparis (Kawasaki) broke through in Production and Callum Alderson (Yamaha) was best of the Over 300s, also winning the first R3 Cup race of the round.