News 5 May 2017

Turner strikes back for the Shark Helmets ‘Rookie of the Year Award’

Motorcycling Australia press release:

Corey Turner (Corey Turner Racing, YZF-R1) accumulated the most points of the Rookies at the presents Round 3 at Winton Motor Raceway for the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK), earning him ‘Rookie of the Round’ in the Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance (YMI) Superbike Championship class, winning a pair of IXON Racing Gloves as part of the SHARK Helmets Rookie of the Year Award thanks to Ficeda Accessories.

Tuner was very consistent over the course of the weekend, finishing a very respectable tenth in both races. Following a difficult Round back at Wakefield Park Raceway, Turner is very satisfied after the team improved the setup of their Yamaha YZF-R1. After being crowned the fastest rookie of the presents Round 3 at Winton Motor Raceway, Turner was awarded IXON Racing Gloves provided by Ficeda Accessories.

Turner was delighted to have been recognised as top Rookie; “I’m honoured to have been recognised as the ‘Rookie of the Round’. For a team mainly comprised of my Dad, Uncle and the two brothers, we’re very satisfied with how we have improved our bike and our competitiveness. We’re still developing and learning about how we can improve the package, but we have come so far since the season opener.” According to Turner.

After returning from Europe last year, Tuner has chosen the ASBK Championship to compete; “We left for Spain when I was 14 years old and came back when I was 18. We have sacrificed a lot to go racing overseas and to come back to Australia to compete in the ASBK Championship.” Tuner said.

Of 21 riders in class, Turner finished overall ninth for the Round with his two 10th place finishes. Not a bad result from the newcomer to the hotly contested Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance Superbike (YMI) category, Tuner hopes to make an impact and become the SHARK Helmets Rookie of the Year.

Kyle Buckley (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R) still leads the SHARK Helmets ‘Rookie of the Year Award’ followed by Mitch Levy (ATR, Yamaha YZF-R1) and Troy Guenther (Saint Unbreakable, BMW S1000R). Corey Turner has closed in on the top three, after coming out on top, this latest round.

Turner believes he can compete for the SHARK Helmets Rookie of the Year Award: “I can definitely target the top placed rookie spot by the end of the year. Now that we have a package the team is satisfied with. We’re realistic that it will be difficult to compete with the factory teams with our budget, but I can challenge for the top rookie spot for sure!” Tuner said.

So far, the YMI Superbike Rookies class of 2017 includes: Corey Turner (Corey Turner Racing, Yamaha YZF-R1) , Kyle Buckley, Callum Spriggs (Desmosport Ducati, 1299 Panigale), Aiden Coote (Consent2Go, Kawasaki ZX-10R), Troy Guenther (Saint Unbreakable, BMW S1000RR), Mitch Levy (ATR, Yamaha YZF-R1), Jack Baker (Crazy Dogs Kawasaki, ZX-10R). who will all battle it out for the remainder of the year for the SHARK Helmets Rookie of the Year Award title. At the conclusion of the Championship, the rookie rider topping the points chart will be generously presented with a crafted trophy and a SHARK Helmet.

Ficeda Accessories have been a leading distributor in Australia since the late 1980s of rider safety apparel and accessories such as SHARK Helmets and IXON leathers, the official helmet and leathers sponsors of the ASBK. Ficeda Accessories continues to be a proud supporter of motorcycle competition in Australia across multiple disciplines from Off-Road to Road Race.

To visit Ficeda Accessories, click here presents Round 3 at Winton Motor Raceway Rookie Points

Name Race 1 Race 2 Total
Corey TURNER (QLD) 11 11 22
Kyle BUCKLEY (QLD) 9 12 21
Troy GUENTHER (QLD) 10 8 18
Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) 0 7 7
Mitch LEVY (NSW) 0 6 6
Jack BAKER (QLD) 0 0 0

SHARK Helmets Rookie of the Year Award Standings

Name Total
Mitch LEVY (NSW) 55
Corey TURNER (QLD) 49
Aiden COOTE (VIC) 33
Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) 31
Jack BAKER (QLD) 15

2017 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship Presented by Motul Pirelli Calendar:

Round 4 Hidden Valley Raceway, NT 7-9 Jul
Round 5 Morgan Park Raceway, QLD 25-27 Aug
Round 6 SMSP Eastern Creek, NSW 8-10 Sep
Round 7 presents Phillip Island Circuit, VIC 6-8 Oct

Stay up to date with all the latest news and updates from the ASBK by liking ASBK on Facebook, following the @asbk on Instagram and checking out the ASBK website here.