News 13 Jul 2017

Hidden Valley ASBK podium whitewash for Pirelli

Link International press release:

Clean-sweeps of the Superbike and Supersport class podiums in the Hidden Valley Raceway round of the 2017 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) presented by Motul Pirelli has Pirelli setting the standard, with that success also flowing across to the Supersport 300 ranks in the Northern Territory.

Darwin, 12 July 2017 – Pirelli-equipped teams have dominated Hidden Valley Raceway’s fourth round of the 2017 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) presented by Motul Pirelli, proving the product to beat in blistering Northern Territory conditions.

In the premier Superbike division it was Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Josh Waters who delivered a 1-1 result in Sunday’s action-packed races, on debut with the top specification GSX-R1000R. It was a special result for Waters, who has proven so successful in the Top End over the years.

Waters won the round from new championship leader Troy Herfoss and teammate Bryan Staring, as the Crankt Protein Honda Racing duo both debuted the highly-anticipated CBR1000RR SP2 in Darwin. Herfoss went 2-2 for the runner-up, while Staring lodged an impressive 4-3 scorecard in his first podium of the season upon return to the ASBK.

Pirelli riders filled seven out of the top 10 placings in the Superbike class, including privateer standout Corey Turner’s exceptional ride to a career-best fourth overall. In addition, the pole position was set by Daniel Falzon (JD Racing Yamaha) and Waters set a record-breaking 1m05.986s on lap three of race two.

The majority of Pirelli Superbike racers used the Diablo Superbike 120/70R17 SC2 front tyre with its added stability under heavy braking into turn one, with the SC1 also proving a popular option across the race weekend. At the rear the favoured selection was the Diablo Superbike 200/60R17 SC0.

In Supersport it was series leader Ted Collins (Next Gen Motorsports Suzuki) who won his second round in a row by virtue of a 2-1 scorecard, trading wins with Tom Toparis (Cube Racing Kawasaki). Joining them on the overall podium was local Mick Heffernan on-board his Kawasaki.

The Diablo Supercorsa 120/70ZR17 SC2 front and Diablo Supercorsa 180/60VR17 SC0 rear were primarily used, with Collins also lowering the lap record with a 1m09.153s lap-time on the fifth lap of the opening encounter on Sunday.

There was yet more success for the brand in Supersport 300 using the Diablo Supercorsa 110/70ZR17 SC1 front and 140/70ZR17 SC2 rear options, with Cube Racing’s Oli Bayliss (Kawasaki) racing to pole position, both race wins for the overall and a new lap record of 1m18.802s in the Up To 300s from Reid Battye (Kawasaki) and Yanni Shaw (Kawasaki).

The Over 300s saw Yamaha riders Tom Edwards, Tom Bramich and Jack Mahaffy fill the podium. As well as his second overall, Bramich had further reason to celebrate when he was awarded Pirelli’s ‘Rider of the Round Award’ through Motorcycling Australia (MA).

“Pirelli made the long trip to Darwin supplying service and product for competitors contesting round four of ASBK championship,” explained Pirelli product manager Garry Crilly. “We could not be happier with the performance of the Pirelli Diablo Superbike and Diablo Supercorsa SC tyre results. To fill all podium places in Superbike, Supersport and Supersport 300 and new lap records in all three classes is testament to Pirelli’s ability to perform in all conditions.”

Round five of the 2017 Australian Superbike Championship will be contested at Morgan Park Raceway in Queensland on 25-27 August. Pirelli Motorcycle Tyres are imported and distributed exclusively in Australia by Link International. Visit for additional information.