News 9 Aug 2017

Herfoss edges Maxwell on day one of Morgan Park ASBK test

Defending champion lowers circuit best lap on Wednesday afternoon.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Current Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) leader Troy Herfoss (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) has topped day one of the official test at Morgan Park in Queensland.

Herfoss lodged a time of 1m13.448s in the fourth and final session to edge out championship rival Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team), who also put in his quickest time of 1m13.551s in the same session.

Rounding out the top three was Yamaha Racing Team’s Glenn Allerton, who posted a quick time of 1m13.710s, proving he hasn’t lost his pace despite limited bike time. All three were beneath the existing circuit best lap of 1m13.826s set by Herfoss last year, with the circuit being resurfaced since.

One of the most impressive performances throughout the day came from Corey Turner in his first official outing with the DesmoSport Ducati outfit, completing the day fourth fastest with 1m13.906s lap, as Daniel Falzon (JD Racing Yamaha) narrowly made the top five with a time of 1m13.906s.

Darwin victor Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar) was sixth ahead of Cru Halliday (Yamaha), who was fastest in the opening two sessions, followed by Bryan Staring (Crankt Protein Honda Racing), Robbie Bugden (BCperformance Kawasaki) and Beau Beaton (Ducati).

In the Supersport category, Chris Quinn (Yamaha) lodged the best time ahead of Tom Toparis (Cube Racing) and Sam Condon (Yamaha), as Ted Collins (NextGen Motorsports) and Mark Chiodo (Repsol GAS Racing) were fourth and fifth respectively to complete the day.

Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing) was quickest in the Supersport 300 class ahead of Max Croker (KTM) and Reid Battye, while the fastest three in the R3 Cup division – who were on-track with the Supersport 300s – was Corey Briffa (Yamaha), Jack Passfield (Yamaha) and Broc Pearson (Yamaha).

Bikes will be back on-track tomorrow morning from 9:05am for the second and final day of testing. Round five of the championship will take place from 25-27 August in Queensland.