News 10 Aug 2017

Maxwell tops day two of official ASBK test at Morgan Park

Herfoss and Falzon complete the top three in Queensland.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha Racing Team’s Wayne Maxwell laid down the fastest lap in day two of the Yamaha Australian Superbike Championship test at Morgan Park in Queensland, edging out day one’s fastest rider Troy Herfoss (Crankt Protein Honda Racing).

Maxwell lodged his quickest time of 1m13.205s the final session of the day to be narrowly faster than Herfoss’ 1m13.264s, which was completed in the third session to be the then leader.

JD Racing Yamaha’s Daniel Falzon scraped into the top three for with a time of 1m13.373s and was fastest in the second session, while DesmoSport Ducati newcomer Corey Turner put in another highly-impressive day to be fourth, lodging a 1m13.478s time.

Fifth was Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Josh Waters with a time of 1m13.571s, as sixth through to 10th was awarded to Robert Bugden (BCperformance Kawasaki), Glenn Allerton (Yamaha Racing Team), Cru Halliday (Yamaha) – who fastest in the opening session – Bryan Staring (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) and Beau Beaton (Ducati).

The Supersport category saw Tom Toparis (Cube Racing) put in a super fast time of 1m16.098s to narrowly beat home Chris Quinn’s (Kawasaki) 1m16.186s and Damon Rees’ (Honda) 1m16.193s, while the top five was rounded out by Mark Chiodo (Repsol GAS Racing) and Ted Collins (NextGen Motorsports).

In the Supersport 300 class, it was Cube Racing’s Oli Bayliss who topped the timesheets again, edging out Reid Battye (Kawasaki) and Max Croker (KTM), while Broc Pearson (Yamaha) was fastest out of the Yamaha R3 Cup riders and third in the merged times. He was followed by Corey Briffa (Yamaha) and Zac Levy (Yamaha).

The next ASBK outing will be the fifth round of the championship, slated to be hosted by Morgan Park on 25-27 August.