News 27 Aug 2017

Collins extends ASBK Supersport lead with Morgan Park sweep

Action across the board in Queensland support categories.

Image: Keith Muir.

Next Gen Motorsports Suzuki’s Ted Collins has increased his advantage in the Supersport division of the 2017 Yamaha Motor Finance Ausrtralian Superbike Championship (ASBK) presented by Motul Pirelli after going 1-1 in Queensland.

The opening race at Morgan Park saw Collins shoot out to the lead from P2 on the grid with Tom Toparis (Cube Racing) and pole-sitter Mark Chiodo (Repsol Gas Racing Triumph) in tow.

Chiodo would move into second on lap five, but crashed out in the final stages after holding the position for much of the outing. Collins controlled the race right through to the flag to take a 6.733s victory, followed by Toparis and Nic Liminton (Yamaha) in third.

The top five was completed by Chris Quinn (Yamaha) and Mason Coote (Yamaha), while sixth through to 10th was Sam Condon (Yamaha), Sam Muldoon (Kawasaki), Cambridge Olivier (Yamaha), Lincoln Gilding (Yamaha) and Aidan Hayes (Kawasaki).

Quinn rocketed to the lead in the second Supersport outing, but it was Chiodo who stole the P1 in a matter of corners. He went onto the control the race in the opening stages until he once again crashed out.

This opened up the top spot for race one winner Collins to check out and secure yet another 3.133s victory for the overall. Western Australian-native Coote negotiated his way into second ahead of Quinn, while Muldoon and Condon completed the top five.

The top 10 was capped off by Liminton, Gilding, Brian Houghton (Honda), Jordan Carlsson (Yamaha) and Olivier. After finishing second in race one, Toparis was ruled out of the second with a clutch problem.

Collins was the round victor as Coote and Quinn finished second and third overall. Collins now holds a healthy 68-point advantage in the series standings.

In the Supersport 300 category it was Tommy Edwards (Yamaha) who won over Over 300s ahead of Zac Levy (Yamaha) and Billy Van Eerde (KTM), who won races one and three, but crashed out in the latter stages of race two.

The Under 300 win went to Reid Battye (Kawasaki) from Lachlan Epis (Kawasaki) and Drew Sells (Kawasaki). Race three winner Oli Bayliss (Kawasaki) was fourth overall after crashing out of race two.

In the R3 Cup it was runaway title leader Jack Mahaffy (Yamaha) who topped Edwards (Yamaha) in all three races, with Hunter Ford (Yamaha) completing the overall podium with a consistent haul of results.

There was plenty of entertainment in the GP Juniors Cup across the weekend as well, with ironman Edwards (Yamaha) winning two of three races for the overall, as race three winner Joel Kelso (Yamaha) was P2 and John Lytras (Yamaha) third.

The 2017 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) presented by Motul Pirelli will now take a single weekend off before resuming at Sydney Motorsport Park in New South Wales on 8-10 September.