News 8 Sep 2017

Maxwell tops ASBK times on opening day at Sydney Motorsport Park

Waters and Halliday complete top three in Friday's practice.

Image: Keith Muir.

Current premier class points leader Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team) has topped the timesheets in Friday’s practice at Sydney Motorsport Park’s sixth round of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike (ASBK) Championship presented by Motul Pirelli.

Maxwell lodged a quick time of 1m30.681s to edge out Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Josh Waters, who was runner-up with a time of 1m30.759s in the final session.

Cru Halliday (Yamaha) rounded out the top three with a 1m31.076s time in FP2, as Daniel Falzon (JD Racing Yamaha) was fourth with a lap of 1m31.165s, beating home Glenn Allerton (Yamaha Racing Team) who’s quickest time around the circuit was 1m31.182s.

Bryan Staring (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) was sixth, as seventh through to 10th was credited to Josh Hook (McMartin Racing Ducati), Michael Blair (Yamaha), Alex Phillis (Yamaha) and Robbie Bugden (BCperformance Kawasaki). Championship contender Troy Herfoss (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) narrowly missed the top 10 to finish 11th.

In the Supersport class it was Mark Chiodo (Repsol Gas Racing) who was quickest with a time of 1m34.647s, as Aaron Morris’s (Yamaha) 1m35.000s time awarded him second ahead of Tom Toparis’ (Cube Racing) time of 1m35.031s. The top five was completed by Sam Muldoon (Kawasaki) and Sam Condom (Yamaha), while championship leader Ted Collins (Next Gen Motorsports) was sixth.

Yamaha-mounted Tommy Edwards topped the Supersport Over 300 division, as Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing) was fastest out of the Under 300 riders. Edwards would post the best time Yamaha R3 Cup, with Joel Kelso (Honda) topping the Moto3/125GP category.

Bikes are back on-track tomorrow from 9:00am for qualifying, with racing scheduled to take place on Sunday.