News 14 Sep 2017

Provisional 2018 MotoGP World Championship calendar unveiled

Prestigious series slated to extend to 19 rounds next year.

Source: Supplied.

The MotoGP World Championship has released a provisional outline of the 2018 calendar, which will see a selection of changes for the new year of racing.

The series will commence a week earlier on 18 March in Qatar, and will run over a regular schedule until Germany’s ninth round on 15 July before heading into a three-week mid-year break, which has been cut down from the five-week break held in the current series.

Thailand is a new addition that will see the prestigious world championship extend to 19 rounds from the 18 stops of 2017, with the Chang International Circuit venue being confirmed earlier this month.

The Australian grand prix at Phillip Island has also been shifted back one week from its traditional time slot in the calendar, and is now pencilled in for 28 October at the popular Victorian circuit.

The series is slated to conclude at Valencia in Spain on 18 November, taking place after four-consecutive fly-away races.

2018 MotoGP World Championship provisional calendar:
Rd1 – 18 March – Losail International Circuit, Qatar
Rd2 – 8 April – Termas de Río Hondo, Republica Argentina
Rd3 – 22 April – Circuit of the Americas, America
Rd4 – 6 May – Circuito de Jerez, Spain
Rd5 – 20 May – Le Mans, France
Rd6 – 3 June – Autodromo del Mugello, Italy
Rd7 – 17 June – Catalunya, Spain
Rd8 – 1 July – TT Circuit Assen, The Netherlands
Rd9 – 15 July – Sachsenring, Germany
Rd10 – 5 August – Automotodrom Brno, Czech Republic
Rd11 – 12 August – Red Bull Ring, Austria
Rd12 – 26 August – TBA, Great Britain
Rd13 – 9 September – Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, Italy
Rd14 – 23 September – MotorLand Aragon, Spain
Rd15 – 7 October – Chang International Circuit, Thailand
Rd16 – 21 October – Twin Ring Motegi, Japan
Rd17 – 28 October – Phillip Island, Australia
Rd18 – 4 November – Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia
Rd19 – 18 November – Valenciana, Spain