News 8 Oct 2017

Chiodo storms to dominant Phillip Island ASBK Supersport victory

Champions crowned in support categories at Victoria's season finale.

Image: Keith Muir.

Repsol Gas Racing Triumph’s Mark Chiodo has dominated the Supersport division at Phillip Island’s final round of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) presented by Motul Pirelli, clean-sweeping the weekend by claiming pole and securing two race victories.

The opening Supersport race of the weekend was all pole-setter Chiodo at the front of the field, taking charge on lap two and going on to win by 4.316s.

Chiodo won ahead of early leader Tom Toparis (Cube Racing Kawasaki) and experienced local Ryan Taylor (Yamaha), who was a full 18 seconds from victory to round out the podium in the opening 10-lap affair.

With Sam Condon (Yamaha) and Rhys Belling (Yamaha) completing the top five, disaster struck series podium challenger Mason Coote (Yamaha) when he exited just past the halfway point following a crash at turn 11, bringing him within striking distance of Toparis for P2 in the standings.

The top 10 also featured Mitch Rees (Honda) in sixth from the ever-improving Aidan Hayes (Cube Racing Kawasaki), Jordan Carlsson (Yamaha), Chris Quinn (Yamaha) and Cambridge Olivier (Yamaha).

Race two of the Supersport ranks was a tighter affair as once again Toparis led the opening lap before Chiodo stormed to the front of the pack. This time though the talented rookie Toparis was able to maintain pressure throughout the 10 laps, but any chance of a late pass was missed when he had a high-speed moment on the final lap.

That enabled a flawless Chiodo to go ahead and sweep the weekend, 0.447s ahead of Toparis, while Coote bounced back for P3 to ultimately secure the runner-up result in the standings ahead of Toparis.

Coote got the better of Taylor for position four, as Belling, Quinn, Rees, Condon, Calsson and Mick Hefferan (Kawasaki) were the top 10 scorers. Overall for the round Chiodo, Toparis and Taylor made up the podium, while in the standings Ted Collins (Suzuki) – who is on Superbike duties this weekend – was crowned with a round to spare ahead of Coote and Toparis.

In Supersport 300, KTM’s Billy Van Eerde was crowned champion in the Over 300 division, as Tommy Edwards (Yamaha) took top honours overall for the day ahead of the newly-appointed champion and Tom Brammich (Yamaha). In Up To 300, it was Kawasaki Reid Battye who lifted the title, while Cube Racing’s Oli Bayliss was victorious on the day, followed by Drew Sells (Kawasaki) and Yanni Shaw (Kawasaki).

It was a fantastic day for Edwards in the Yamaha R3 Cup, clinching the championship after charging to commanding round win over Hunter Ford (Yamaha) and Locky Taylor (Yamaha).

In the 125cc Grand Prix championship, Taran Ocean (Honda) claimed the title and round win, while the Moto3 category was topped by Joel Kelso (Honda) in both round and championship results.