News 18 Oct 2017

Australians on-track for overseas Selection Events

2018 Rookies Cup and Asia Talent Cup try-outs commence.

Source: Supplied.

A number of youthful Australians will try their hand at international Selection Events set to be hosted in the coming weeks in an effort to boost their careers.

The prestigious Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup will see the best young riders from around the world invited to assemble as they do every year for three days of track action, where Australians Ned Faulkhead, Joel Kelso and Billy Van Eerde will endeavour to be in the chosen 10 of 109 riders.

Split into two lists, one for Tuesday 17 October and Wednesday 18 October, where each rider has the chance to show their abilities. A smaller list is then compiled of those invited back for more track time on Thursday 19 October.

At the end of the three days a much smaller list of around ten riders will be invited to join the Rookies Cup for 2018 to race the KTM RC 250 Rs alongside those remaining from last season.

This year more than half the Moto3 World Championship grid has been made up of ex Rookies and at times they have packed the podium places. Ex Rookie Joan Mir currently leads the title chase by 80 points with four races remaining, he could make it a run of three ex Rookie world champions in a row.

The process to find the 22 riders who will compete in the 2018 edition of the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup has reached the selection phase, which is scheduled to take place at the Sepang International Circuit on the 24-25 October, ahead of the last race of the current season of the Asia Talent Cup, which also takes place at the Malaysian venue near Kuala Lumpur.

During that day, each applicant must demonstrate their skills and ability riding a Honda bike at the Sepang Karting Circuit. Subsequently, the selection committee will meet again to analyse all the data and ultimately determine the final riders chosen to participate in the 2018 edition of the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup.

Aussies Senna Agius, Benjamin Baker, Oliver Bayliss, Thomas Brown, Seth Crump, Gerry Mahaffy, Jordan Simpson, Mitchell Simpson, Connor Spinks, plus the previously mentioned Rookies Cup entrants Faulkhead and Van Eerde are amongst the 127 attendees.