News 6 Nov 2017

Swallow crowned Swann Super Series champion in Sydney

Three-event series concludes with variety of new championship winners.

Image: Keith Muir.

Kawasaki Connection’s Brad Swallow has been crowned Superbike champion following the final rounds of the 2017 Swann Super Series over the weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Suzuki-mounted Brendan McIntyre claimed the overall Superbike victory during Saturday’s penultimate round with two race wins to his name, defeating Swallow, who wound up in second.

Third overall was credited to Simon Galloway (Yamaha), followed by Matt Harding (Kawasaki) – who won race three – and Lucas Vitale (Kawasaki).

Sunday’s final round would see McIntyre once again claim the overall win over Swallow, with second being enough to wrap up the title. Galloway slotted into third ahead of Harding, while Vitale closed out the first five.

In the Supersport class, Yamaha-mounted Sam Lambert walked away with the title, while it was Rhys Belling (Yamaha) who claimed overall victories during both rounds.

The graded Formula Oz class saw Brett Kitchin (BMW), Mark Nassif (Kawasaki) and Shane Ryan (Yamaha) crowned champions in their respective divisions, as Michael Witchard (Yamaha), Andrew Thompson (BMW), Belling and Ryan were all overall victors throughout the final two rounds.

Ducati’s Heath Griffin claimed the Pro-Twins championship, securing victories on both days, granting him a healthy 81-point advantage as the season concludes.

The Supersport 400 class was wrapped up by KTM’s Max Croker, although the class was topped by Hunter Ford (Yamaha) and Yanni Shaw (Kawasaki) on Saturday and Sunday respectively.