News 27 Jun 2018

Hidden Valley calling Suzuki’s Waters and Chiodo

Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia press release:

Round 4 of the Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) heads to Hidden Valley, Darwin, this weekend where Josh Waters dominated in 2017, taking the round win, while Markus Chiodo showed impressive speed on the 2.87km circuit, which features 14 corners and one of the longest straights on the calendar at 1.1km.

Team Owner Dale Brede: “Tailem Bend didn’t go exactly to plan for us as a team, that’s no secret, but it did give us some clear direction and the break has been great for us. Phil (Tainton – PTR) has worked tirelessly and I really think we’re back to our usual strong position heading into the weekend. Markus is full of confidence after his strong results at round 3, while Josh, as usual, is looking forward to pulling the helmet, on giving it everything he’s got.”

A racer at heart, Josh Waters is relishing getting back on the GSX-R1000R: “It’s been a long break in the championship, and I’m looking forward to getting back on the bike. Darwin was good to me last year, taking both race wins, and I know the team has been working hard to give me an even stronger package this weekend, so I’m excited to get back on track.”

Hidden Valley is a circuit that suits the rookie of the team, Markus Chiodo: “I really like Hidden Valley. I’ve been quick there in the past, and Josh has shown last year that the bike is awesome around not only the fast straight, but the hard braking and acceleration through the back of the circuit. I gained a lot of confidence at The Bend last round, so I’m looking to keep that momentum and bring home my best results of the year.”

Following the normal ASBK race schedule, Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia will be on track for qualifying on Saturday, June 30, and racing at 11:05am and 1:35pm (ACST) on Sunday, July 1st.

Keen to watch the team in action on race day?

Live Stream: From 9:30 AM ACST / 10:00 AM AEST – www.asbk.com.au
FOX Sports: 12:00 PM ACST / 12:30 PM AEST
SBS: 12:30 PM ACST / 1:00 PM AEST

Make sure you follow the team on social media to stay up to date with the teams progress throughout 2018:

Facebook @TeamSuzukiECSTARASBK
Instagram @teamsuzukiecstaraustralia

Related