News 3 Dec 2018

Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia welcomes Wayne Maxwell

Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia press release:

Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia is excited to announce that Wayne Maxwell will join the team for next two years.

Maxwell, who finished runner-up in this year’s Australian Superbike Championship will join Josh Waters aboard the factory supported PTR prepared Suzuki GSX-R1000, forming one of the most powerful Suzuki rider line-ups in the history of ASBK.

Said Maxwell: “I’m very excited to be joining Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia for the next two years. Last time Suzuki and I were paired together proved to be very successful, winning my first Australian Superbike championship.

I’m really looking forward to getting back on the GSX-R1000, I know how fast and competitive the GSX-R is having raced against it the last few years, I’m super excited to get to work with Phil, Warren and the rest of the team on repeating our 2013 success.”

Maxwell and Team Suzuki ECSTAR Australia will return to the track for round 1 of the 2019 Australian Superbike Championship kicking off at Phillip Island during the WSBK weekend February 22-24, 2019.

Suzuki and PTR ASBK Superbike Championship History
1996 Peter Goddard GSX-R750
2000 Shawn Giles GSX-R750
2001 Shawn Giles GSX-R1000
2002 Shawn Giles GSX-R1000
2003 Craig Coxhell GSX-R1000
2009 Josh Waters GSX-R1000
2012 Josh Waters GSX-R1000
2013 Wayne Maxwell GSX-R1000
2017 Josh Waters GSX-R1000