News 3 Mar 2020

Expanded 2020 Dunlop ASBK program pays dividends

Image: Foremost Media.

Ficeda Accessories press release:

The 2020 Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) has fired into life over the weekend at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit, alongside the opening round of the World Superbike Championship, with a bolstered roster of racers choosing to ride on Dunlop.

Dunlop Motorsport Manager Robbie Bugden: “It’s great to get the 2020 season underway with a growing list of racers choosing Dunlop. This season, riders have a range of options suited to racing at the highest level. In the KR109 front tyre, MS-1 and MS-3 give a choice between outright grip and extended tyre life, while in the KR108 rear, the MS-0, MS-1 and MS-2 offer a range of performance and durability. Teams chose a wide range of options across the weekend, but ultimately it was Josh Waters who lead the charge this weekend for Dunlop, choosing the MS-3 front paired with the MS-0 rear. I’m excited for the season ahead, and proud to see four of the top 10 this weekend on Dunlop, including Bryan Staring in a close fourth overall behind Josh.”

Josh Waters: “I raced with the MS-0 rear, opting for the softest compound, and, to be honest, I don’t think our set-up has seen us get the most out of the tyre yet. Our program is still new, and our guys did a great job to get me on-track, but we all still think there’s more work to do to get to our full potential. So, I’m really looking forward to the year ahead. For a lot of the weekend, I found myself alone on the track, so it was great to get to the races and be in the mix, battling with the fastest guys in the country and giving me a lot more confidence for the season.”

With the BC Performance Kawasaki team of Bryan Staring and Glenn Scott, along with Jed Metcher, Daniel Falzon and Josh Waters, on three different makes of bike, all choosing to race on Dunlop, the 2020 ASBK season is set to serve up even better racing as the Dunlop technical team continues to offer advice and support through the on-ground tyre service at each round of the championship.