News 23 Apr 2022

YRT 1-2 led by Jones in Wakefield Park ASBK qualifying

Record-setting afternoon for Yamaha factory duo at round three.

Image: Foremost Media.

Yamaha Racing Team riders Mike Jones and Cru Halliday will lead the Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) grid at Wakefield Park after going 1-2 in Saturday qualifying.

Jones posted a record-breaking 56.673s in Q2 this afternoon as temperatures rose, a few tenths up on the previous qualifying benchmark set by Wayne Maxwell last year.

Title-leader Jones was 0.101s clear of teammate Halliday in a continuation of YRT’s resurgence, with Maxwell (Boost Mobile with K-Tech McMartin Racing Ducati) completing the front row – unable to match his pace of Friday when he posted a 56.694s lap-time.

Fourth on the grid will be Bryan Staring (DesmoSport Ducati), ahead of fellow former champion Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing), with Josh Waters (Maxima BMW), Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing Yamaha), Glenn Allerton (Maxima BMW) and Lachlan Epis (BMW Alliance Racing) also in the 57s. Mark Chiodo (Yamaha) completed the top 10 via Q1.

Detailed results