Features 3 Aug 2022

Three Things: Past Morgan Park ASBK winners

A closer look at previous overall premier class winners in Warwick.

With the Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) returning to Morgan Park this weekend for the first time in three years, CycleOnline takes a closer look at the previous premier class winners at the Southern Downs circuit in this Three Things feature.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Wayne Maxwell – 2017 | 2019

The most recent premier class winner at Morgan Park, Wayne Maxwell took the overall victory in 2019 courtesy of 2-1 results. Team Suzuki Ecstar-mounted at the time, Maxwell rebounded from sixth on the opening lap of race one to charge his way towards the runner-up position, ultimately crossing the line 2.64s behind Mike Jones (DesmoSport Ducati). A better start for the number 47 in race two saw him battling with the lead group from the onset, ultimately taking the win ahead of Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) by a slim 0.375s. Prior and as part of the Yamaha Racing Team (YRT), Maxwell also scored the overall victory at the venue in 2017 by five points ahead of Yamaha-mounted Cru Halliday, going 1-2 to Halliday’s 3-1 scorecard to secure the top spot. Notably, Maxwell qualified P7 at Morgan Park that year and had to charge his way forwards in both races.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Troy Herfoss – 2016 |2018

Like Maxwell, Herfoss has two overall wins in Warwick, the first being a pivotal victory in 2016. The number 17 claimed pole for Crankt Protein Honda Racing and went on to cross the line first in dominant fashion during both bouts to keep him in the title hunt. In 2018, Herfoss – now part of Penrite Honda Racing – returned to the top step overall, overcoming a relentless Troy Bayliss (DesmoSport Ducati) in race one before taking a nail-biting victory in race two, 0.729s ahead of Josh Waters (Team Suzuki Ecstar). With four race wins and two overall victories, Herfoss has stood on the top step more than any other ASBK rider at Morgan Park to date.

Mike Jones – 2015

Queensland’s own Mike Jones was the maiden ASBK winner at Morgan Park, taking the overall when the series visited the venue in 2015 for the first time. Then riding with Cube Racing Kawasaki, Jones was untouchable all weekend, taking victory in both outings by over 10 seconds. Notably, a number of top domestic riders were not in attendance, with the majority opting to focus solely on the Australasian Superbike Championship that year. Nonetheless, the number 46 is a formidable force around Morgan Park and the current Yamaha Racing Team rider enters the upcoming round in hot form with a commanding championship lead.