News 8 Aug 2022

Team HRC on top in dramatic Suzuka 8 Hours

Lecuona, Takahashi and Nagashima victorious ahead of KRT.

Image: Supplied.

Team HRC emerged victorious following a clinical performance from Tetsuta Nagashima, Iker Lecuona and Takumi Takahashi in what was a dramatic 2022 Suzuka 8 Hours.

The safety lap was deployed after the opening lap when Kosuke Sakumoto on the number 17 Astemo Honda Dream SI Racing CBR1000RR-R took out SDG Honda Racing’s Naomichi Uramoto in a high-speed impact, forcing both teams out of the race.

A second safety car came out at the two-hour mark after an incident involving the T.Motokids Takada I.W. NAC Yamaha team that saw its R1 catch on fire.

Endurance World Championship (EWC) regular BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team was then forced out of the race with a coolant retention issue.

Team HRC ultimately won with a one-lap advantage ahead of Kawasaki Racing Team, which comprised Jonathan Rea, Leon Haslam and Alex Lowes. Rea low-sided in the fourth hour but lost minimal time in the incident.

Completing the podium and top of the EWC mainstays was defending champion Yoshimura SERT Motul, who notably competed with a two-rider team of Gregg Black and Kazuki Watanabe after Sylvain Guintoli was ruled out of the event following a practice crash.

Australia’s Josh Hook finished P10 with F.C.C TSR Honda France and ran inside the top three in the opening stint before having to fight back through the field to regain time lost with a master cylinder change.

Looking at the 2022 EWC standings after three rounds, Yoshimura SERT Motul lead by 23 points ahead of F.C.C TSR Honda France, with YART – Yamaha Official Team EWC third a further nine points adrift. YART finished the Suzuka 8 Hours in seventh with the trio of Marvin Fritz, Karel Hanika and Nicolo Canepa, and was limited by an incident in the final with the Akeno Speed Yamaha team, which brought out the safety car and resulted in the penalty for the number seven.

Detailed results