News 12 Aug 2022

Australians named for 2023 IATC Selection Event

Try outs to take place at the Sepang Kart Track on 18-19 October.

Image: Supplied.

The candidates to be invited to the 2023 Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup (IATC) Selection Event have been shortlisted, with 11 Australians chosen to try out at the Sepang Kart Track on 18-19 October later this year.

After an intensive communications campaign in collaboration with key partners and circuits across Asia and Oceania, including national federations and motorcycle riding schools, hundreds of riders from nearly 20 countries applied for a place on the 2023 IATC grid.

Their applications have now been analysed by the selection committee and 83 riders from 15 countries have been shortlisted for an invite to the 2023 Selection Event, where the final riders to participate in next year’s championship will be determined.

Australians selected to attend the IATC tryouts include Mi-Bike Australian Superbike (ASBK) Supersport 300 (SSP300) leader Cameron Dunker and Harrison Watts, who is currently at the top of the standings in the Oceania Junior Cup (OJC) and FIM MiniGP Australia Series.

Carter Thompson, Marianos Nikolis and Cameron Swain currently represent Australia in the 2022 IATC, with Thompson the highest-placed in P10.

Australians shortlisted for 2023 IATC Selection Event:
59 Cameron Dunker 14
302 Alexander Codey 15
150 Marcus Hamod 14
272 Toby James 14
43 Ryan Larkin 15
291 Jayden Martin 14
237 Samuel Pezzetta 16
274 Cameron Rende 15
292 Jai Russo 15
293 Levi Russo 14
152 Harrison Watts 14