News 13 Nov 2022

WorldSBK crown secured by Bautista in Indonesian scorcher

Mandalika triple for Razgatlioglu, Aegerter P1 in WorldSSP race two.

Image: Supplied.

In the scorching conditions at Mandalika, Racing – Ducati’s Alvaro Bautista secured the 2022 Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK), as Toprak Razgatlioglu completed each encounter on top in Indonesia.

In this morning’s superpole race, Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx) edged Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jonathan Rea by 0.586s, with the pair exchanging blows throughout the bout.

Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx) held off Bautista to complete the rostrum, as Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) finished fifth and won the Independent rider championship.

Race two saw Razgatlioglu challenged by Bautista as Rea closed in, however, the Turkish rider unleashed pace when it counted to claim a 1.230s win, with P2 enough for Bautista to capture the title.

Taking the chequered flag third was Rea, ultimately 2.825s from the lead, with Locatelli and Bassani fourth and fifth place respectively.

Image: Supplied.

Wrapping up the WorldSSP title yesterday, Ten Kate Yamaha’s Aegerter stood tall in what was a shortened outing for the category’s second race at Mandalika.

The Swiss rider led Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) at the conclusion of lap 13 when the red flags were brought out following a crash from yesterday’s winner Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) at turn one.

With the race not being restarted, Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) rounded out the top three, as Oli Bayliss (Barni Spark Racing Team) finished P14.

The Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) continues next weekend at Phillip Island for what will be its 12th and final round for the 2022 season.

Detailed results