News 20 Nov 2022

Round win for Waters following dramatic Phillip Island ASBK

Race three fall for Maxwell all but rules Ducati rider out of contention.

Image: Foremost Media.

Boost Mobile Ducati with K-Tech’s Josh Waters prevailed in what was a dramatic round six of the 2022 Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship at Phillip Island, with title-contender Wayne Maxwell winning race two before falling again in the final encounter.

A commanding ride from Maxwell saw him hunt down Boost Mobile Ducati with K-Tech teammate Josh Waters to bounce back from yesterday’s mistake and take victory in race two.

Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) held the lead at the end of the first lap, but pole-sitter Waters quickly worked his way forward from outside of the top three to take first position by lap two. From there the three-time ASBK champion swiftly stretched out a margin at the front, as Maxwell (Boost Mobile Ducati with K-Tech) took second from Herfoss with nine laps to go.

With six laps to go, Maxwell had reduced the gap to his teammate out front to under one second, and with three remaining, he made his move for the lead, ultimately taking victory, 1.599s ahead of Waters.

Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team) charged his way to third, overcoming Herfoss in fourth as championship leader Mike Jones (Yamaha Racing Team) – who was shuffled well back on the opening lap – completed the top five. Yesterday’s winner Bryan Staring (DesmoSport Ducati) was sixth, leading NextGen Motorsports BMW’s Glenn Allerton, impressive teenager Senna Agius (Penrite Honda Racing), Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing Yamaha) and Daniel Falzon (Caterpillar Yamaha) in P10.

Waters cleared out from what was a dramatic superbike race three to claim a dominant 2.3s victory, as title-contender Maxwell fell on the opening lap. The number 47’s incident occurred at turn four, where he clipped the back of Herfoss and crashed out, unable to continue the race.

As Waters extended out front, a four-rider battle for second developed between Herfoss, Jones, Staring and Allerton. Further drama ensued before half race distance when Falzon tucked at turn four, bringing down both Halliday as Agius collected the downed bikes and fell also.

With four laps to, Jones worked his way to the front of the battle for second, but a late move from Staring into turn three secured the number 67 the runner-up position.

Jones completed the podium, with Herfoss fourth and Allerton fifth, notably run wide by the number 17 at turn four. Metcher took the chequered flag sixth, with Sissis, Pearson, Max Stauffer (GTR Motostars Yamaha) and Ben Burke (Kawasaki) completing the top 10.

Waters took the overall ahead of Staring and Allerton, while Jones enjoys a 38-point lead ahead of Staring, with Maxwell all but of contention now 48 points back ahead of the season final at The Bend next weekend.

Detailed results