News 27 Nov 2022

Final race decider sees Lytras secure Australian Supersport title

Dual champion Dunker concludes season 2022 with round seven SSP300 overall.

Image: Foremost Media.

Queensland’s John Lytras held on in what was a final race decider to secure the 2022 Australian Supersport Championship, as Harrison Voight swept the round and Supersport 300 title-winner Cameron Dunker won round seven at The Bend.

International teenager Harrison Voight (Thriller Motorsport) dominated what was ultimately a spread-out opening Supersport encounter, dropping into the low 1m55s bracket and taking a 4.2s victory.

From pole, Voight (Yamaha) led every lap ahead of Dallas Skeer (Yamaha), who in turn, had a 3.9s advantage over third-placed Ty Lynch (Yamaha). Lynch (Yamaha) fought his way to the podium, overcoming an early race battle with Scott Nicholson (Yamaha) and Tom Bramich (Yamaha).

As Lynch cleared away, Bramich and Nicholson continued to tussle over P4, with Nicholson coming out in front of the number 44 in fifth. In P6 was Archie McDonald (Yamaha), leading championship leader John Lytras (Yamaha), Tom Drane (Yamaha), Rhys Belling (Yamaha) and Jack Passfield (Yamaha) who completed the top 10. Entering the final race of the season, Lytras holds a 22-point advantage over Lynch, with Bramich a further three points adrift.

In Supersport race two, Voight grabbed the early lead and didn’t look back, extending to take what was a commanding 6.176s victory, as Lynch delivered one final push in his bid for the crown to finish second.

Completing the podium, Skeer notched another rostrum in third, as Nicholson held off the hard-charging of McDonald to secure P4.

Crossing the line sixth was Bramich (Yamaha), as positions seven to 10 were Passfield, Farnsworth, champion Lytras and Drane. Looking at the round points, Voight was perfect on 51 with pole and two race wins, ahead of Lynch on 38 who bested Skeer on countback. The 2022 Australian Supersport Championship standings saw Lytras victorious on 223.5, Lynch P2 on 209 and Bramich third on 201.

Image: Supplied.

In Supersport 300, it was champion Cameron Dunker who capped off his successful season with victory at round seven, winning the final race of the season to secure the overall in Tailem Bend.

Joining Dunker on the podium, Taiyo Aksu (Yamaha) was second overall in South Australia, ahead of Hayden Nelson (Yamaha) in third. Looking at the 2022 Australian Supersport 300 Championship standings, Dunker was victorious on 360, ahead of Glenn Nelson (Yamaha) on 279 and Aksu on 270.

Dunker’s success didn’t end Supersport 300, clean sweeping the R3 Cup at round seven to clinch the title in class. Joining Dunker on the overall podium were Sam Pezzetta (Yamaha) and Aksu, while Glenn Nelson and Aksu completed the top three in the championship.

Emerging talent Harrison Watts secured the Oceania Junior Cup (OJC) title at The Bend, leading Hudson Thompson and Ryan Larkin in the series standings. It was Teerin Fleming that won round seven however, with Bodie Paige second and Larkin completing the top three.

Detailed results