News 27 Nov 2022

Jones captures 2022 Australian Superbike Championship

Opening superbike encounter won by Herfoss at The Bend

Image: Foremost Media.

Sixth in an intense race one at The Bend was enough for Yamaha Racing Team’s Mike Jones to secure the 2022 Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), his third premier class crown as Troy Herfoss returned to the top step in the outing.

Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing) grabbed the holeshot and stretched out a small margin as Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) charged his way forward to second.

Once in P2, the number 17 slowly began to close in the South Australian, reducing his three-quarters of a second advantage to just one-tenth by lap five. From 12th on the grid, Wayne Maxwell (Boost Mobile Ducati with K-Tech) worked his way to third, making move on Herfoss at half-race distance.

Shortly after Maxwell passed Sissis, the number 61 rapidly dropping down to fourth from that point, seemingly with some sort of issue. The fight wasn’t over, however, with Herfoss able to edge past Maxwell and hold on to return to the top step of the podium, with the number 47 and Allerton taking the chequered flag in hot pursuit to complete the podium.

Jones rode to a safe P6, comfortably securing the title – his third in the premier class on as many manufacturers. Anthony West (MotoGo Yamaha),  Yamaha Racing Team’s Cru Halliday, Daniel Falzon (Caterpillar Yamaha) and German Marcel Schrotter (Thriller Motorsport completed the top 10.

Notably, a crash involving title-contender Bryan Staring (DesmoSport Ducati) and Billy McConnell (727 Moto Racing) brought out the red flags on the second lap, with both riders up to their feet but ultimately unable to restart the race. Unfortunately for Jack Miller (Thriller Motorsport), a mechanical issue on the opening lap of the restarted outing brought a premature end to his race.

Detailed results