Features 27 Nov 2022

Racefeed: 2022 ASBK Rd7 The Bend

Direct updates from seventh round of the season in South Australia.

Follow the 2022 Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) with direct SBK and Supersport updates from round seven of the season at The Bend through Racefeed.

Image: Foremost Media.

Supersport race one:

International teenager Harrison Voight (Thriller Motorsport) dominated what was ultimately a spread-out opening Supersport encounter, dropping into the low 1m55s bracket and taking a 4.2s victory. From pole, Voight (Yamaha) led every lap ahead of Dallas Skeer (Yamaha), who in turn, had a 3.9s advantage over third-placed Ty Lynch. Lynch fought his way to the podium, overcoming an early race battle with Scott Nicholson and Tom Bramich. As Lynch cleared away, Bramich and Nicholson continued to tussle over P4, with Nicholson coming out in front of the number 44 in fifth. In P6 was Archie McDonald (Yamaha), leading championship leader John Lytras (Yamaha), Tom Drane (Yamaha), Rhys Belling (Yamaha) and Jack Passfield (Yamaha) who completed the top 10. Entering the final race of the season, Lytras holds a 22 point advantage over Lynch, with Bramich a further three points adrift.

Superbike race one: 

Sixth in an intense race one was enough for Yamaha Racing Team’s Mike Jones to secure the 2022 Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), his third premier class crown. Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing) grabbed the holeshot and stretched out a small margin as Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) charged his way forward to second. Once in P2, the number 17 slowly began to close in the South Australian, reducing his three-quarters of a second advantage to just one-tenth by lap five. From 12th on the grid, Wayne Maxwell (Boost Mobile Ducati with K-Tech) worked his way to third, making move on Herfoss at half-race distance. Shortly after Maxwell passed Sissis, the number 61 rapidly dropping down to fourth from that point, seemingly with some sort of issue. The fight wasn’t over however, with Herfoss able to edge past Maxwell and hold on to return to the top step of the podium, with the number 47 and Allerton taking the chequered flag in hot pursuit to complete the podium. Jones rode to a safe P6, comfortably securing the title – his third in the premier class on as many manufacturers. Anthony West (MotoGo Yamaha),  Yamaha Racing Team’s Cru Halliday, Daniel Falzon (Caterpillar Yamaha) and German Marcel Schrotter (Thriller Motorsport completed the top 10. Notably, a crash involving title-contender Bryan Staring (DesmoSport Ducati) and Billy McConnell (727 Moto Racing) brought out the red flags on the second lap, with both riders up to their feet but ultimately unable to restart the race. Unfortunately for Jack Miller (Thriller Motorsport), a mechanical issue on the opening lap of the restarted outing brought a premature end to his race.

Supersport race two:

Queensland’s Lytras held on in what was a final race decider to secure the 2022 Australian Supersport Championship, as Harrison Voight swept the round. Voight grabbed the early lead and didn’t look back, extending to take what was a commanding 6.176s victory, as Lynch delivered one final push in his bid for the crown to finish second. Completing the podium, Skeer notched another podium in third, as Nicholson held off the hard-charging of McDonald to secure P4. Crossing the line sixth was Bramich, as positions seven to 10 were Passfield, Farnsworth, champion Lytras and Drane. Looking at the round points, Voight was perfect on 51 with pole and two race wins, ahead of Lynch on 38 who bested Skeer on countback. The 2022 Australian Supersport Championship standings saw Lytras victorious on 223.5, Lynch P2 on 209 and Bramich third on 201.

Superbike race two:

Eager for redemption from race one, Miller charged to the holeshot, closely followed by Senna Agius (Penrite Honda Racing) who made a great start from the third row. Agius followed the MotoGP contender closely for the first three laps, with champion Jones right behind in hot pursuit. On lap four, Jones made his move by Agius into turn one, with Maxwell making his way past the teenager later in the lap. From that point, the leading three began to break away ever so slightly, as Agius kept Allerton and teammate Herfoss at bay. On lap six, Jones made his move on Miller into the first corner, standing the number 43 up as Maxwell soon made his way into P2, Miller back to third. Moments later the number 47 passed Jones for the lead, with Allerton taking Miller for P3 as Herfoss and Agius remained in contention. Herfoss was the next through on Miller, followed soon after by Agius, pushing Miller back to sixth. With four laps to go Herfoss made a move on Allerton into the penultimate corner, with Jones back in the lead as the top five were separated by less than a second. In the final laps, Jones dropped the hammer and entered the 1m50s bracket to stretch out a lead, as Herfoss edged Maxwell for second. At the conclusion of the bout, it was Jones victorious, with disaster striking for Herfoss and Allerton as crashing out on the last lap, at turn five. Amongst the drama on the final lap, impressive Agius crossed the line in second, ahead of Maxwell in his final full-time superbike appearance. Miller finished fourth, less than a second from the number 81 in P2, as Sissis and Halliday were fifth and sixth respectively, both within striking distance of the podium at the conclusion of the race. In seventh was West, as Falzon, Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati) and Moto3 World Championship regular Joel Kelso (Livson Racing BMW) completed the top 10. In terms of the round seven overall, Jones was victorious on 41, ahead of Maxwell on 38 and Sissis with 32. Completing the top three in the 2022 Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) are Maxwell and Bryan Staring (DesmoSport Ducati), the number 67 finishing the final race of the season in P12.