News 5 Jan 2023

Complete roster for 2023 Oceania Junior Cup released

Full line-up of 20 riders named from Australia and NZ.

Image: Foremost Media.

The complete roster for the 2023 Oceania Junior Cup (OJC) is released, featuring a 20-rider line-up of Australia and New Zealand’s future racing stars alongside the Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

2023 marks the fifth year of the OJC, with the initiative providing pathways for a number its graduates to compete overseas and also achieve domestic championship success.

For the upcoming season, 11 new riders join to cup, with nine existing riders remaining to complete the potent and youthful grid aged between 11 to under 16.

“It’s great to see that more riders are joining the many more who are successful graduates of the OJC,” explained Motorcycling Australia CEO Peter Doyle.

“Thanks must go to the sponsors and supporters of the OJC who have made the series the most affordable elite motorsport category in the Oceania region.

“Thanks also go to the team who have supported and trained the riders, particularly Garry McCoy and Trevor Manley. The parents and friends always play a major role and I want to credit them as well.

“The FIM and Dorna Sports S.L (the commercial rights holders and promoters of MotoGP™) have been integral to providing OJC riders assistance as well as spots in the 2023 Asia Talent Cup Selection Event and in 2022, the opportunity for the OJC to be a support class at the MotoGP event. These actions have further cemented MA’s objective to develop clear pathways for junior road racers.

“I look forward to seeing more of the close racing and excitement that the OJC provides and seeing the rise of our future champions of the sport.”

The top three in the 2022 OJC standings were Harrison Watts, Hudson Thompson and Ryan Larkin respectively, with the trio effectively graduating from the series and taking the next step in their racing careers for this season.

2023 bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup entry list:

– Elijah Andrew
– Hunter Charlett
– Hunter Corney
– Alexander Codey
– Sam Drane
– Haydn Fordyce
– Nixon Frost
– Jedd Fyffe
– Rikki Henry
– Ethan Johnson
– Valentino Knezovic
– Nikolas Lazos
– Oscar Lewis
– Rossi McAdam
– Ella McCausland
– Riley Nauta
– Bodie Paige
– Jake Paige
– John Pelgrave
– Archie Schmidt