News 25 Feb 2023

ASBK qualifying record lowered by Waters at Phillip Island

McMartin Racing Ducati rider storms to pole with a 1m31.100s.

Image: Foremost Media.

Bettering his previous Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) qualifying lap record at Phillip Island, McMartin Racing Ducati rider Josh Waters stormed to pole position at the opening round of the season with a 1m31.100s.

The blistering effort from Waters set roughly at the mid-point in this morning’s session improved his previous record of a 1m31.286s, and sees him 0.237s clear from Yamaha Racing Team’s Cru Halliday in P2.

Making it two R1s inside the top three, defending champion Mike Jones (Yamaha Racing Team) will line up third on the grid courtesy of a 1m31.649s, ahead of Bryan Staring (MotoGo Yamaha), Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing) and Max Stauffer who delivered a solid 1m32.497s to secure a spot on the second row with P6.

Also in the 1m32s bracket is Glenn Allerton (BMW) and Unitech Racing’s Arthurs Sissis in eighth, ahead of Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati) and Asia Road Racing Championship-bound Lachlan Epis (Evolution Sports Group BMW) who completes the top 10 with a 1m32.934s.

Detailed results