News 25 Feb 2023

Intense WorldSBK superpole topped by Razgatlioglu

Ten Kate's Manzi leads WorldSSP field ahead of race one this afternoon.

Image: Supplied.

Following an intense Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) superpole session at Phillip Island, Toprak Razgatlioglu has emerged on top with a 1m29.400s as Stefano Manzi will line-up from P1 for the opening round of the Supersport World Championship (WorldSSP).

Razgatlioglu rebounded from a seemingly challenging day yesterday to lead reigning champion Alvaro Bautista ( Racing Ducati) and WorldSBK rookie Dominique Aegerter (GYTR GRT Yamaha) who completes the front row.

In fourth is Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team), ahead of Philipp Oettl (Team Go Eleven) and Michael Rinaldi ( Racing Ducati). Australian Remy Gardner (GYTR GRT Yamaha) will make his WorldSBK debut from P7 on the grid, notching a 1m29.841s during the superpole session.

Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team) starts from eighth, as Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha Prometeon) and Danilo Petrucci (Barni Spark Racing Team) round out the top 10.

Image: Russell Colvin.

The WorldSSP Superpole session commenced in mixed conditions, with times tumbling in the closing stages of the session as conditions improved.

Ultimately it was Ten Kate Racing Yamaha’s Manzi who qualified fastest with a 1m32.814s, edging Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetii Racing) and top Ducati rider Yari Montella (Barni Spark Racing).

Pre-season testing favourite Nicolo Bulega was fourth quickest with a 1m33.090s, ahead of Nicholas Spinelli (VFT Racing Yamaha) with Marcel Schroetter the fastest in MV Agusta rider in sixth.

Completing the top 10 were Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team), Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki), Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing Team) and Raffaele De Rosa (Orlec Racing). Australia’s Oli Bayliss (D34G Racing) will line-up P13, his best time in the session a 1m34.699s.

Detailed results