News 26 Feb 2023

Consistency prevails for Lynch in Supersport overall

Russo takes early lead in SSP300 championship at Phillip Island.

Image: Foremost Media.

Race two winner Ty Lynch stood tall in terms of the Australian Supersport overall at Phillip Island’s opening round, with consistent points across a variety of conditions in the three outings seeing him take the early championship lead as Jai Russo emerged on top in Supersport 300.

Making amends for his mistake in race two yesterday, Supersport lap record holder Harrison Voight (Yamaha) delivered a controlled ride to the win in Supersport race three, the race staring in wet conditions with track drying as the bout progressed.

Voight led each lap to take a 3.589s win ahead of Olly Simpson, the South Australian rebounding to secure important points following his fall in the wet race two yesterday. After a slow start, reigning champion John Lytras produced a spirited charge to reach P3, edging race-two winner and title rival from last season Ty Lynch who finished fifth, with Hayden Nelson also finding his way past the number 85 in the closing stages to split the pair.

Jack Passfield crossed the line P6, with Suzuki-mounted Declan Carberry, Mitch Simpson (Yamaha), Tom Bramich (Yamaha) and Glenn Nelson (Yamaha) completing the top 10. Notably, Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) crashed on the opening lap at the Hayshed while running P2 behind Voight.

In terms of the overall, consistency prevailed for Lynch who took the overall win on 54 points, ahead of Voight (51) and Passfield (47).

Image: Foremost Media.

Pole-setter Cameron Swain (Yamaha) delivered a dominant performance in race three, riding solo off the front to a convincing 7.944s win ahead of Brodie Gawith (Yamaha) and Luke Jhonston (Yamaha).

In terms of the overall, race-winner Jai Russo took the honours and leads the championship after round one by a single point ahead of race two winner Brandon Demmery, with Henry Snell this and a further four points adrift.

Detailed results