News 24 Mar 2023

Intense ASBK qualifying sees Halliday on pole in Sydney

Supersport qualifying topped by Condon who sat out Q2 altogether.

Image: Foremost Media.

Continuing his convincing form in Sydney, Cru Halliday has secured pole position in the second round of the 2023 Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), with each of the riders on the front row covered by less than a tenth, while in Supersport Sean Condon set the qualifying benchmark.

A 1m28.970s secured the number 65 the best possible starting position for tomorrow, with Mike Jones (Yamaha Racing Team) lining up second courtesy of a 1m29.019s and round one winner Josh Waters (McMartin Racing Ducati) third, just one thousandth from the reigning champion.

Each of the top three led at times throughout the session, as Penrite Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss (1m29.710s) will line-up fourth, ahead of Bryan Staring (MotoGo Yamaha) P5.

Glenn Allerton (GT Racing Team BMW) just missed the 1m29s mark in sixth, while Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing Yamaha), Max Stauffer (GTR MotoStars Yamaha), Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati) and Ted Collins (Livson Racing BMW) completed the top 10.

Image: Foremost Media.

Condon continued his dominant form from practice to lead Superport qualifying, taking out pole position despite sitting out the second session under the lights altogether.

The R6 rider posted a 1m32.509s in QP1 this afternoon, with Jack Passfield setting the second fastest time in the form of a 1m33.253s, however, he notably suffered a sizeable high-side on the entry to turn nine in the second qualifying session.

Completing the front row is round one winner Ty Lynch (Yamaha), setting a 1m33.538s to finish ahead of Olly Simpson (Yamaha) who was the leading rider to improve their time tonight, ending just 0.016s from a front-row starting position.

A 1m33.722s from Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) was enough for P5, in front of Supersport rookie Hayden Nelson who was the final rider in the 1m33s bracket.

Lining up in P7 is Tom Bramich (Yamaha), as dual Supersport 300 and R3 Cup champion Cameron Dunker (Yamaha), Dallas Skeer and reigning Supersport champion John Lytras round out the top 10.

In the first Supersport 300/ R3 Cup bout, experienced contender Brandon Demmery converted pole position to victory, crossing the line ahead of round one winner Jai Russo and former Oceania Junior Cup (OJC) champion Cameron Swain – the top three separated by just 0.088s.

A thrilling Oceania Junior Cup race one saw Haydn Fordyce recover from a poor start to win the category’s first encounter of the season, leading Valentino Knezovic and Queensland’s Hunter Corney at race-end.

Detailed results