News 29 Apr 2023

Record-setting Herfoss secures Queensland ASBK pole

Supersport sensation Dunker to line up P1 with new lap record.

Image: Foremost Media.

After an intense Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) qualifying session at Queensland Raceway, Troy Herfoss secured pole position with a new qualifying record as Cameron Dunker continued to impress in Supersport and will line-up in P1 tomorrow.

Herfoss best lap of 1m07.655s wasn’t quite as fast as his effort this morning of a 1m07.587s, but it was enough to eclipse the previous qualifying record set by Mike Jones (Yamaha Racing Team) of a 1m07.673s.

Jones will line up P2 tomorrow after posting a 1m07.759s, ahead of teammate Cru Halliday who completes the front row with a 1m07.901s. Despite a fall early in the session at turn four, Josh Waters (McMartin Racing Gotzinger Ducati) rebounded to qualify fourth ahead of Max Stauffer (GTR MotoStars Yamaha) in fifth.

Sixth fastest was Glenn Allerton (GT Racing Team BMW), as Ted Collins (Livson Racing BMW), Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati), Bryan Staring (MotoGo Yamaha) and Anthony West (Addicted to Track Yamaha) complete the top 10

Image: Foremost Media.

In Supersport, the impressive season of 600 rookie Cameron Dunker continued as he grabbed pole position with a new qualifying record of a 1m11.127s.

Times for the leading contenders were notably faster in the morning session, with Dunker’s effort in qualifying one seeing him less than a tenth clear of Tom Bramich (Yamaha) who will line up in P2.

Championship leader Ty Lynch (Yamaha) completes the front row with a 1m11.375s, with Olly Simpson (Yamaha), Jack Passfield (Yamaha) and Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) – who was quickest in this afternoon’s session – to feature on row two.

Sydney Motorsport Park race one winner Sean Condon will start from seventh after suffering a fall in the second session, as Scott Nicholson (Yamaha), reigning champion John Lytras (Yamaha) and Dallas Skeer (Yamaha) complete the top 10.

Marcus Hamod scored a breakthrough victory in the R3 Cup, besting Henry Snell and Brandon Demmery in what was a thrilling encounter. The top six were covered by just under six-tenths, with Brodie Gawith, pole-setter Cameron Swain and Jai Russo all featuring in the leading group.

Hamod later continued his winning ways in the opening Supersport 300 encounter, leading Demmery and Gawith across the line once more.

Race one of the Oceania Junior Cup (OJC) was ultimately a four-way battle for the lead, with pole-setter Bodie Paige edging Archie Schmidt and Riley Nauta. John Pelgrave just missed the podium in P4.

Detailed results