News 14 Jul 2023

Friday fastest Herfoss under Morgan Park lap record

Lytras leads Supersport on day one at round five in Warwick.

Image: Foremost Media.

A 1m12.243s from Troy Herfoss sees him under the Morgan Park lap record and fastest on Friday at round five of the 2023 Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), with defending champion John Lytras setting the pace in Supersport.

Herfoss’ effort sees him under the previous qualifying record of a 1m12.562s set by McMartin Racing’s Wayne Maxwell last year, and 0.290s clear of reigning champion Mike Jones (Yamaha Racing Team) in P2.

Third fastest was Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati), notching a solid 1m12.662s as notably the top three all set their fastest times in FP3 this afternoon.

Fourth quickest was Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team), leading points leader Josh Waters (McMartin Racing Ducati) as each rider in the top five posted a time in the 1m12s bracket.

Sixth fastest was Anthony West (Addicted to Track Yamaha), ahead of Glenn Allerton – who suffered a technical issue in session three – Bryan Staring (MotoGO Yamaha), Ted Collins (Livson Racing BMW) and Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing Yamaha) featured inside the top 10.

Image: Foremost Media

Defending Supersport champion Lytras (Yamaha) was fastest in all three practices today in the 600 category, his best time of a 1m15.355s coming in this afternoon’s FP3.

Supersport rookie and winner of the last two rounds Cameron Dunker (Yamaha) improved to a 1m15.658s in the final session to conclude Friday second fastest, with Hayden Nelson (Yamaha) third courtesy of a 1m15.676s.

Fourth was Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) who rebounded from a fall at turn 12 in FP1, ahead of Ty Lynch (Yamaha), Scott Nicholson (Yamaha), and Tom Bramich, all posting times in the 1m15s bracket. Dallas Skeer (Yamaha), Glenn Nelson (Yamaha) and championship leader Olly Simpson (Yamaha) completed the top 10.

In the Supersport 300 class, Cameron Swain (Yamaha) set the Friday pace with a 1m23.161s, leading an all-Yamaha top three that featured Brodie Gawith (1m23.506s) and championship leader Brandon Demmery (1m23.795s).

Swain also led the way in the R3 Cup practice, notching a 1m23.250s in FP1 to conclude the day ahead of Gawith by just under half a second and Henry Snell (Yamaha).

In Oceania Junior Cup (OJC), Bodie Paige set the benchmark with Riley Nauta and Jed Fyffe completing the top three.

Detailed results