News 2 Dec 2023

Record-setting Herfoss storms to Tailem Bend ASBK pole

Voight posts new Supersport best lap for P1 in 600 class.

Image: Foremost Media.

A blistering 1m49.889s from Penrite Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss saw him storm to pole position and take the Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) lead, with a record setting lap at The Bend. Meanwhile, Harrison Voight set a qualifying record of his own to top Supersport.

Herfoss flyer sees him fourth-tenths clear of title rival Josh Waters (Onyabike Adventures McMartin Racing), and crucially claim the series lead by one point.

Fastest in qualifying one, Yamaha Racing Team’s Cru Halliday secured P3 on the grid, with Max Stauffer (GTR Motostars Yamaha) and Glenn Allerton (GT Racing Team) fourth and sixth respectively, both following Herfoss for their laps. Defending champion Mike Jones (Yamaha Racing Team) split the pair in P5.

MotoGO Yamaha’s Bryan Staring will line-up in P7, ahead of Arthur Sissis (Unitech Racing), Anthony West (Addicted To Track Yamaha) and Broc Pearson (DesmoSport Ducati) inside the top 10.

Image: Foremost Media.

International talent Voight set a new lap record on his way to pole position in Supersport, with a 1m54.618s seeing him qualify at the head of the field.

Voight’s lap eclipses the previous pole record of a 1m54.762s set in 2021 by Broc Pearson, and saw the number 29 one and a half seconds clear of Tom Toparis (Yamaha) in P2.

Third was championship contender Olly Simpson (Yamaha), just 0.207s from the top, but was forced to stop at turn one in the closing stages of Q2 with a machine issue.

Championship leader Cameron Dunker (Yamaha) was fourth, also fastest in the second session this afternoon where sprinkles of rain were present early on.

Also in the hunt for the title, Ty Lynch banked a 1m55.571s for P5, as Harry Khouri (Yamaha) completes the second-row thanks to strong pace in qualifying two.

Lining up on row three are Jonathan Nahlous (Yamaha), Scott Nicholson (Yamaha) and Dallas Skeer (Yamaha), while Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) completes the top 10.

Supersport 300 race one saw Cameron Swain extend his championship lead with a crafty victory, finishing narrowly ahead of Brodie Gawith while Marcus Hamod completed the podium positions. In R3 Cup race one, Swain was again victorious, with Gawith in close pursuit and Hamod third once more.

The opening Oceania Junior Cup (OJC) bout was won by pole-setter Archie Schmidt, edging Bodie Paige as the lead two broke away. Third was Rikki Henry.

Detailed results