News 3 Dec 2023

Dunker seals 2023 Australian Supersport title at The Bend

Swain takes SSP300 crown with overall victory at round seven.

Image: Foremost Media.

Following an intense final round at The Bend, Cameron Dunker has been crowned the 2023 Australian Supersport champion, while Harrison Voight swept the round. In Supersport 300, Cameron Swain took the title in style with an overall victory.

Yamaha-mounted Harrison Voight took victory in what was a thrilling opening Supersport encounter at The Bend.

The race was restarted after an early incident at turn two saw Jack Mahaffy (Yamaha) and Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) fall. Upon the restart, another incident at turn two brought out the red flags, this time Harry Khouri (Yamaha) and Jack Favelle were involved. In the third start, a six lap encounter, Voight grabbed the holeshot ahead of Simpson, Toparis and Dunker.

On the brakes into turn one on lap two, Simpson slipped up the inside of Voight to take the lead, with the number 29 returning the favour into turn six.

On lap four Toparis made his way from third to first in one swoop, taking both Voight and Simpson into turn one, with Simpson moving into second at this point. Also within striking distance of the lead group, Cameron Dunker (Yamaha) began to break away from Ty Lynch (Yamaha).

Two to go and Simpson was back in front, again making a move into turn one, with Toparis responding later in the lap, but the South Australian again made his way by into turn one.

From there, it was a dramatic last lap with Toparis taking the lead into turn 14, but high-sided on exit, crashing out of the race. Simpson and Voight swapped positions multiple times in the last sector after that, with Voight narrowly taking the chequered flag first, just 0.019s in front.

Championship leader Dunker was third, his advantage now 12 points. Fourth was Ty Lynch, ahead of Jonathan Nahlous in P5. Positions six to 10 were Archie McDonald (Yamaha), Dallas Skeer (Yamaha), Hayden Nelson (Yamaha), Taiyo Aksu (Yamaha) and Declan Carberry (Suzuki).

At just 16 years of age, Dunker sealed the 2023 Australian Supersport Championship in race two. Simpson and Voight traded positions in the early stages, with Toparis unable to start the race after his bike was wheeled off the grid without the rear wheel in it.

Lynch was mathematically in with a shot at the title, but a fall in the opening half of the race ruled him out of contention. As the race entered its second half, Voight held roughly a half-second lead over Simpson, while Dunker dropped behind Jonathan Nahlous to P4.

There was no stopping Voight, who notched a new lap record of a 1m54.522s, with Simpson putting in a commendable effort to finish second. Nahlous completed the podium, with P4 enough to secure Dunker the title.

Nicholson finished fifth, as Skeer, Nelson, McDonald, Farnsworth and Aksu completed the top 10. In terms of the round, Voight was perfect on 51 points, with Simpson and Dunker completing the podium, while it was Lynch who scored the bronze position in the championship standings.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the Supersport 300 Cameron Swain won the title in style, also taking the round victory with a 1-1-4 scorecard.

The promising teenage talent showcased immense speed throughout the year, and with great racecraft he got the job done at The Bend.

Race three winner Marcus Hamod was second overall for the round, and in the championship, while Brodie Gawith completed the top three in for the weekend, while Brandon Demmery was third in the 2023 standings.

Swain enjoyed double championship success, also capturing the R3 Cup crown with overall win in South Australia. He won the round ahead of Hamod and Gawith, while Gawith and Henry Snell completed the top three in the series.

In the Oceania Junior Cup, Archie Schmidt was crowned champion with the round win. Rikky Henry and Valentino Knezovic finished second and third overall respectively for the round, while Bodie Paige and Haydn Fordyce were P2 and P3 in the series standings.

Detailed results