News 16 Jan 2024

YRT re-signs Halliday and Jones for 2024 ASBK season

Yamaha Racing Team retaining the same roster for a third-straight year.

Image: Foremost Media.

Yamaha Racing Team has re-signed Cru Halliday and Mike Jones for the 2024 Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK), continuing with the same duo for a third-consecutive season.

Halliday finished third in the standings last year, with three-time ASBK champion Jones claiming fifth in what was his title defence.

“YRT is my racing home and I’m looking forward to another year of racing with the team,” Halliday commented. “The last couple of years, both Mike and myself at been very competitive at every track and it’s a credit to the guys on the team for the hard work they do and the bikes they build.

“My motivation is as high as ever and its time I rewarded my family and the team with a championship win so I’m all out to get that done in 2024,”

Jones added: “I took a few weeks off after the final round last year and had the chance to reflect on what I did well and what I can improve on this season and I believe that I’m still not at my peak as a rider.

“Last year I set a number of personal best times at the majority of the tracks and I think myself, the team and the bike can go even faster in 2024. I know the guys haven’t stopped back in the workshop as they prepare for the season and we have a number of ride days and tests scheduled prior to round one to ensure we are in a good place when the championship starts.”

Yamaha’s support will extend to a handful of YRD-supported riders in the premier class, including Bryan Staring (MotoGo), Max Stauffer (GYT MotoStars), Anthony West (Addicted To Track), as well as newcomers Ty Lynch and John Lytras as they step up to the Superbike ranks.