News 25 Feb 2024

Nahlous undefeated in Phillip Island Supersport overall win

Supersport 300 victory goes to Svoboda at the opening round.

Image: Foremost Media.

Yamaha-mounted Jonathan Nahlous has opened his 2024 account in dominant fashion, earning three race wins on his way to the Supersport overall victory at round one of the Mi-Bike Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) in Phillip Island.

The teenager was unstoppable all weekend, claiming pole position before going onto earn three commanding race victories from three starts, while also setting a new Supersport race lap record with a 1m34.682s in yesterday’s race two.

Olly Simpson (Yamaha) strung together an incredibly consistent 3-2-3 scorecard for second overall, while third was a tightly contested affair as Jake Farnsworth (Yamaha) ultimately secured the final step on the podium with 5-4-4 results

The overall top five was rounded out Tom Bramich (Yamaha) and Marcus Hamod (Honda), while title contender Mark Chiodo (Honda) was a notable absentee from the podium after registering a 2-DNF-5 scorecard.

In the Supersport 300 category, Petr Svoboda (Kawasaki) emerged victorious with a pair of race wins to his name, the pole-sitter ultimately concluding the weekend with a P3 result to take home top honours.

Joshua Newman (Kawasaki) and Harrison Watts (Kawasaki) completed the podium in position two and three respectively, that latter victorious in race three. Tara Morrison (Kawasaki) and Ryan Larkin (Yamaha) rounded out the top five.

The ASBK now heads to Sydney Motorsport Park for round two of the series, scheduled on 22-23 March.

Detailed results